Just looking at some of the example Squad mode abilities in Rites of Battle I am a bit puzzled. Some of them seem to do... well, very little at all or are totally pointless unless you have several of the same chapter or the right tactical marine.
Namely Tactical Finesse and Swift Advance:
Tactical Finesse says that the Battle-Brother and those within support range can make a half action attack and then make a half move. It also allows them to disengage from melee for no penalty. It costs a full action to use.
- Now if you have the right Tactical Marine and make the Command check (or have several of the same Chapter) then this presumably means that one Space Marine uses their full action and then all relevant Marines can take the half action attack and move. This is all fine. Basically you give other Space Marines another free turn, just with limits on what they do. Quite powerful. The problem is when you are not the right Tactical Marine and there are no other Space Marines of the same Chapter (quite common I would think... certainly no doubling up in the games I am in). In this case this ability seems next to pointless. Basically you use a full action to gain... two half actions. Ok, you get to disengage from melee for no penalty, which could be useful at some points but it seems a bit... unimpressive (ok, still does something, unlike the fan created Raven Guard Attack Patter which does nothing in this case). Now, I understand the squad modes all become better when you can have several Marines benefitting from them, but all the ones from the core rulebook all provide some benefits to the single marine even when they are a unique chapter non-Tactical marine.
Swift Advance says that a Space Marine benefiting from the ability who has sucessfully dodged a ranged attack can then spend their reaction to make a full move.
- Erm... but they will have spent their reaction to dodge the ranged attack. Now I am presuming this should just remove the spending a reaction statement and just be "after successfully dodgeing a ranged attack the Battle Brother can make a full move", but the fact they have bothered to have the "spend their reaction" statement makes me wonder. As written it is only of use to those who have multiple reactions to spend (those with step aside and wall of steel).
Basically I am wondering if I have misunderstood these, whether they have been written incorrecty, or whether they are genuinely a bit... rubbish.