Dodge during your own turn

By slaartibartfast, in Deathwatch Rules Questions

Can a Npc dodge an attack during his turn when a techmarine uses his servo-arm to make a reaction attack?

It seems to me a bit to much as I usually want to make my attacks and as a reaction he simply grapples me and there goes my turn.

I'd say 'yes'. By RAW it might not be viable, but this is clearly a common sense thing. The rules are supposed to simulate 'reality'. When they fail to do so in such a blatant way, they're worth ignoring.

Siranui said:

I'd say 'yes'. By RAW it might not be viable, but this is clearly a common sense thing. The rules are supposed to simulate 'reality'. When they fail to do so in such a blatant way, they're worth ignoring.

Not allowing it could make delayed shooting quite powerful.

Alex

slaartibartfast said:

Can a Npc dodge an attack during his turn when a techmarine uses his servo-arm to make a reaction attack?

It seems to me a bit to much as I usually want to make my attacks and as a reaction he simply grapples me and there goes my turn.

I would say yes, though still limited to 1 attack 1 reaction unless the creature stats say something else.

Nimon said:

slaartibartfast said:

Can a Npc dodge an attack during his turn when a techmarine uses his servo-arm to make a reaction attack?

It seems to me a bit to much as I usually want to make my attacks and as a reaction he simply grapples me and there goes my turn.

I would say yes, though still limited to 1 attack 1 reaction unless the creature stats say something else.

I would allow it but since it's the start of his turn, he won't have another until the start of his next turn.

Alex

I'm on the "Yes" boat here as well.

It's my reading, it may not be raw, but my reading is that a reaction can be used at any point during a turn, when it's your portion of the turn or not. The trick is, as some have said, you only get one reaction a turn (unless a special talent adds to this pool). If you spent that reaction doing furious assault or getting an extra shot from your bolter, then you can't use it to dodge or parry. Alternately if you spend the reaction to doge prior to attacking, you'd be prohibited from performing those attack actions that used a reaction (so if you dodge at the start of your the turn you couldn't then do furious assault when it was your turn).

ak-73 said:

Nimon said:

slaartibartfast said:

Can a Npc dodge an attack during his turn when a techmarine uses his servo-arm to make a reaction attack?

It seems to me a bit to much as I usually want to make my attacks and as a reaction he simply grapples me and there goes my turn.

I would say yes, though still limited to 1 attack 1 reaction unless the creature stats say something else.

I would allow it but since it's the start of his turn, he won't have another until the start of his next turn.

Alex

Yes that is what I ment also.

So what your saying is that a techmarine with a servo arm just has to get close to a big guy (hive tyrant or a whatnot) wait for its turn, react to the 3 attacks he's going to deal and then grapple him as a reaction, the hive tyrant can't dodge because it's his turn and a dodge is a reaction (and you you can't react on your turn), so it's grappled and loses all of its attacks.

Seem it a bit too much and makes the leaders and the monsters with loads of melee attacks completly usesless.

Hi,

I'm the techmarine that's making ask this question gui%C3%B1o.gif

And you have *appaling* reading skills for someone who is, y'know, from ENGLAND. lengua.gif

What they're saying is, though RAW says you CAN'T dodge during your turn, they think you should be able to.

Also, for the sake of fairness, you should say that you're applying grapples per RAW as well, which is hardly how you describe in the post: we've been applying that, if you're grappled after the start of your turn, you play it normally.

If we switch to "common sense" mode, you also should be unable anything other than the Grapple action as soon as you are grappled, independently of how you started your turn. Anyone's thoughts on this?

JBento said:

And you have *appaling* reading skills for someone who is, y'know, from ENGLAND. lengua.gif

If we switch to "common sense" mode, you also should be unable anything other than the Grapple action as soon as you are grappled, independently of how you started your turn. Anyone's thoughts on this?

That it's ironic? cool.gif

Do you mean '...unable to perform any action, other than the Grapple action...'?

If so; then probably 'yes'.

JBento said:

Hi,

I'm the techmarine that's making ask this question gui%C3%B1o.gif

And you have *appaling* reading skills for someone who is, y'know, from ENGLAND. lengua.gif

What they're saying is, though RAW says you CAN'T dodge during your turn, they think you should be able to.

Also, for the sake of fairness, you should say that you're applying grapples per RAW as well, which is hardly how you describe in the post: we've been applying that, if you're grappled after the start of your turn, you play it normally.

If we switch to "common sense" mode, you also should be unable anything other than the Grapple action as soon as you are grappled, independently of how you started your turn. Anyone's thoughts on this?

I am not sure to whom you are referring here; I think everyone was clear that as a house rule you should be able to, though this would be your reaction for the round and would not get another until your next turn. If you are a tech-marine and are grappled, there might be more options, say using your servo arm, feedback screech ect. It seems this is taken out of context and really needs to be examined as a whole. I must say though that players do not "making ask"(what was that about our reading? perhaps work on writing) me anything. If a player does not like my ruleing then when he puts the time into running a campaign he can call the shots. Maybe extend your GM a simular courtesy.

Nimon, I think he's speaking to his GM, FWIW.

Now that I re-read the servo-arm description, it really doesn't feel like you should be able to use the arm as a reaction not on your turn . Much like Furious Assault, you're burning your reaction to strike with your servro arm, shouldn't that happen during your attack action? Getting a free interrupt action seems a little bit much for a starting ability.

That aside, the dodge rule seems flat wrong for several reasons, but AK brings up a good one- everyone would just hold their action until their opponent acted, then interrupt with the held action to fire, then the enemy gets no dodge or parry? That makes no sesne to me. That would mean you couldn't ever dodge overwatch

Using the RAW, in this case if the grapple succeeded I'd simply have the HT on his turn Take Control of the grapple (remember by it's bse stat block it may have 15 fewer strength but it get's +1 to it's DoS compared to the marine) and then inflict damage on the techmarine with his remaining attacks. Alternately I'd use Psychic Scream- not sure if that's within RAW or not but I can't imagine you can really stop someone from using their mind when you've got their arms pinned down.

Ultimately, I'd modify the rules for grapple on giant structures like a Hive Tyrant- the thing is listed as Massive and considered the same size as a tank or greater deamon. It's also got a bunch of arms- I'm sorry, but how is your 'merely hulking' marine with a servo arm going to immobilize the whole beast? Pin it's foot to the floor, sure, imobilize one arm, yeah, knock the thing back, maybe, but make it so it can't move? Not so sure about that.

Yes, I was referring to my GM (slaarti).

Sorry about that typo - it's what I get for not proofreading posts made while sick preocupado.gif (also, I'm not native speak... er, writer).

But anyways, I never went for the Hive Tyrant - I'd NEVER go for the grapple on the hive tyrant. HTs are big, strong, and more than capable of ripping me apart when they pass the grapple check to take control. Humans, humanoid xenos (blasphemy!!!!) ,weapons-using mutants, genestealers, are all fair game, though. happy.gif

I *think* you're meant to use the servo-arm to attack as a reaction OUTSIDE of your turn, due to the wording - "The Techmarine may strike with the arm as his reaction for the round, or as a Standard Attack during his turn (as long as the servo arm only makes one attack per round)."

This seems to indicate that, if you want to use the arm on your turn, you have to use a standard attack - and the fact that they limit the servo arm to one attack per round suggests that you can use it at anytime. Then again, this wouldn't be the first time an ffg book has poor wording, so make of that what you will...

Ah I see, Well no worries then, Basicly what I am saying is we are only given a snipet of the circumstances in which this question arised. One thing you and all players need to realize is that the rules are there for the GM to use as a guideline or basis, common sense will normaly over-rule RAW for most GMs( I would hope), so if they seeing the full situation determine something should go one way, then it is probably reasonable.

As far as my comment about using servo arm, you dont just have to use it to attack, if I was grappled and it was free I might use it to gain leverage against a wall or the ground to assist in over coming the situation, but again I do not know all the who what where why and how of the situation.