Compel

By venkman2, in Deathwatch Rules Questions

Hello all, I have a rule question regarding 'Compel'. As a forewarning, I have not read any errata.

Essentially it boils down to this: when does the compelled N/PC do the 'compelled' action? Is it during their turn, or immediately when they are compelled to do whatever action?

There is a problem with 'time warping' if it happens immediately and does not take their turn. This could make someone with a heavy bolter fire faster then the game allows, ASSUMING all of the turns are happening more or less simultaneously. This is the same problem with any full action. That is to say, if a single round represents five seconds, within that five seconds there is no way for a heavy bolter to shoot fire more than 10 rounds, regardless of when the 'compel' takes place.

So I ask again, when does compel take place, and if it is done on the N/PCs turn, does it take up whatever the action regularly allots? Or is it done immediately? And if done immediately, does the amount of action it takes (for instance, lets say a 1/2 action compel) chew up the "full-action" allowed during regular turns? Example: Compel NPC 'A' to shoot semi-auto, regularly half action. Compelled NPC's turn comes up, they have 1/2 action left.

Thanks

Venkman said:

Hello all, I have a rule question regarding 'Compel'. As a forewarning, I have not read any errata.

Essentially it boils down to this: when does the compelled N/PC do the 'compelled' action? Is it during their turn, or immediately when they are compelled to do whatever action?

There is a problem with 'time warping' if it happens immediately and does not take their turn. This could make someone with a heavy bolter fire faster then the game allows, ASSUMING all of the turns are happening more or less simultaneously. This is the same problem with any full action. That is to say, if a single round represents five seconds, within that five seconds there is no way for a heavy bolter to shoot fire more than 10 rounds, regardless of when the 'compel' takes place.

So I ask again, when does compel take place, and if it is done on the N/PCs turn, does it take up whatever the action regularly allots? Or is it done immediately? And if done immediately, does the amount of action it takes (for instance, lets say a 1/2 action compel) chew up the "full-action" allowed during regular turns? Example: Compel NPC 'A' to shoot semi-auto, regularly half action. Compelled NPC's turn comes up, they have 1/2 action left.

Thanks

The psyker combines their use of Compel with a simple command as a Free Action. Those affected start to obey the command on their next action. Use normal initiative for them. If any of them have been delaying their actions, they can act immediately, of course.

Alex

ak-73 said:

Venkman said:

Hello all, I have a rule question regarding 'Compel'. As a forewarning, I have not read any errata.

Essentially it boils down to this: when does the compelled N/PC do the 'compelled' action? Is it during their turn, or immediately when they are compelled to do whatever action?

There is a problem with 'time warping' if it happens immediately and does not take their turn. This could make someone with a heavy bolter fire faster then the game allows, ASSUMING all of the turns are happening more or less simultaneously. This is the same problem with any full action. That is to say, if a single round represents five seconds, within that five seconds there is no way for a heavy bolter to shoot fire more than 10 rounds, regardless of when the 'compel' takes place.

So I ask again, when does compel take place, and if it is done on the N/PCs turn, does it take up whatever the action regularly allots? Or is it done immediately? And if done immediately, does the amount of action it takes (for instance, lets say a 1/2 action compel) chew up the "full-action" allowed during regular turns? Example: Compel NPC 'A' to shoot semi-auto, regularly half action. Compelled NPC's turn comes up, they have 1/2 action left.

Thanks

The psyker combines their use of Compel with a simple command as a Free Action. Those affected start to obey the command on their next action. Use normal initiative for them. If any of them have been delaying their actions, they can act immediately, of course.

Alex

So what your saying is that the person affected by compel gets a free action next turn to do the compel then get their full turn? The book lists an example of making someone shoot their friend. How does this work in the situation of making a person with a heavy bolter shoot their friend? A free action to do this compel would be considered 2 half actions (to fire a gun fully auto which is the only way a heavy bolter can be fired) so then they would get another 2 half actions to do their own moves afterward? that dosen't make sense since this guy is fireing at max rounds per turn (10) with a compel to fire then would be fireing more bullets then the gun is able to fire in that amout of time

Btw venkmen is my friend who is playing a devestator im the librarian =)

A Full Action is taken by the Librarian to use the power and give the command. The target uses his normal allotment of Actions and performs them on his next Turn. The action he is compelled to perform must be able to be completed in one turn (so typically one Full Action or two Half Actions at most along with a few Free Actions).

ak-73 said:

The psyker combines their use of Compel with a simple command as a Free Action. Those affected start to obey the command on their next action. Use normal initiative for them. If any of them have been delaying their actions, they can act immediately, of course.

Alex

By this you mean that the compel 'victim' burns a half and or full action as normal when being compelled, correct?

To do otherwise is ripe for abuse by friendly Librarians (compell your own KT to shoot at a bad guy, that's your free action, then you get to act, essentially doubling your actions).

Charmander said:

ak-73 said:

The psyker combines their use of Compel with a simple command as a Free Action. Those affected start to obey the command on their next action. Use normal initiative for them. If any of them have been delaying their actions, they can act immediately, of course.

Alex

By this you mean that the compel 'victim' burns a half and or full action as normal when being compelled, correct?

To do otherwise is ripe for abuse by friendly Librarians (compell your own KT to shoot at a bad guy, that's your free action, then you get to act, essentially doubling your actions).

I mean by that that the 'victim' acts as normal. The Compel power does not affect when he acts or whether half or full actions are available. It only makes the choice for that victim at the earliest opportunity. If the victim has been aiming his gun at someone making sure that they don't move, I would count that as a delayed action. If they were compelled to kill the person they are aiming at, I would rule that they could make a standard attack immediately. Without a delayed action they have to wait ubtil it is their turn.

Alex

Lets break it down into a combat example as i and my friends are still confused on how this works in some areas

Say my squad of 2 are deep in a fight with say whatever, 6 chaos space marines, so we fight for a while and kill 4 of them and two are left.

Now lets say that in the back we discover that the 6th chaos space marine is wielding a heavy bolter and unfortunly he fires his 10 rounds at one of our team mates but he survives (broken down like this and we have been in combat the whole fight no breaks in inish).

Tactice marine makes a run move expends both half actions to do so

Chaos space marine discovered and was sitting on delay so he fires at the marine

Librarian is within range with use compel and compels the heavy bolter chaos marine to fire at a friendly

Tactice marine takes a shot and kills the chaos space marine that the heavy bolter chaos space marine was compeled to shoot.

Chaos space marine w/ heavy bolter does........?

sorry double posted =(

Bangel Hairybasement said:

Chaos space marine w/ heavy bolter does........?

Unclear. The GM chooses :

- fires into the body of dead Chaos Space Marine just to be sure

- does nothing being briefly irritated because he wanted to shoot the CSM who is dead now

- fires at the DW Marines because he is not affected by any disorientation due to his target already being dead.

Alex

If he was instructed to fire at a friendly - such as "Shoot the Traitor Marines!", then he should try to do that. If there is another friendly that he can fire at, that's what I'd rule he does.