Refueling Recharging Spells before they expire

By KillerShrike, in WFRP House Rules

A Bright Wizard player in my group wanted to "refuel" Shielding Winds of Aqshy as he had a window of opportunity to do so and it was going to expire at the end of his turn leaving him vulnerable. Ie, it had 1 recharge token left on it.

After some discussion, I allowed it, but added +1 challenge die.

It worked out ok, but it set a precedent for refueling spells of that nature that give a benefit while recharging that is sure to come up again.

Does anyone see any inherent problem / game imbalance in allowing this?

KillerShrike said:

A Bright Wizard player in my group wanted to "refuel" Shielding Winds of Aqshy as he had a window of opportunity to do so and it was going to expire at the end of his turn leaving him vulnerable. Ie, it had 1 recharge token left on it.

After some discussion, I allowed it, but added +1 challenge die.

It worked out ok, but it set a precedent for refueling spells of that nature that give a benefit while recharging that is sure to come up again.

Does anyone see any inherent problem / game imbalance in allowing this?

There is an optional rule in the GM kit that allows a player to use any action before it has recharged by adding a numer of misfortune dice equal to the number of recharge tokens on the card. You then place the normal amount of recharge tokens on the card if it's successful on top of the ones already there.

Gallows said:

KillerShrike said:

A Bright Wizard player in my group wanted to "refuel" Shielding Winds of Aqshy as he had a window of opportunity to do so and it was going to expire at the end of his turn leaving him vulnerable. Ie, it had 1 recharge token left on it.

After some discussion, I allowed it, but added +1 challenge die.

It worked out ok, but it set a precedent for refueling spells of that nature that give a benefit while recharging that is sure to come up again.

Does anyone see any inherent problem / game imbalance in allowing this?

There is an optional rule in the GM kit that allows a player to use any action before it has recharged by adding a numer of misfortune dice equal to the number of recharge tokens on the card. You then place the normal amount of recharge tokens on the card if it's successful on top of the ones already there.

Excellent! Good to know, and thanks...

I've made a house rule for that and I allow my wizards to fuel duration of spell by spending more power points. Each power point is equal to one recharge token.

Similar rule i've made for Berserker action card. But in this case player is spending wound poits indicating that his character is making some ritual cuts on the body to help him get the berserker condition.

Barthelm said:

I've made a house rule for that and I allow my wizards to fuel duration of spell by spending more power points. Each power point is equal to one recharge token.

Similar rule i've made for Berserker action card. But in this case player is spending wound poits indicating that his character is making some ritual cuts on the body to help him get the berserker condition.

The problem with doing it that way is that you essentially allow a wizard to cast two spells in a single round ... one to refresh their current spell and one to cast a new one. With the 'official' version, the player uses up an action to 'recast' the spell early. That's a huge difference.

I'm not allowing refuel active spell. The player before casting the spell must spend additional power points. Just as a talent to increase damage by bright wizard. Same with berserker action card but player must spend wounds.