Deathwatch Oath of Vigil

By Dr. Schadenfreude, in Deathwatch Gamemasters

I'm new to Deathwatch and am going to be running a campaign for four of five players who have never played this game before - some of them haven't even encountered the setting. My plan is to open with the "Shadow of Madness" and as a means to introduce the Omega Vault, I'd like to have the team sworn in before it prior to receiving their first mission. The problem is that the rulebook gives no real indication as to what the "Oath of Vigil" entails and that I'm not really sure where to start.

If any of you have any suggestions as to what significant points I should cover and how I can get the team involved, they'd be greatly appreciated.

I would assume it is simliar to an "oath of moment" from the horus heresay books, the group will kneel before the watch captain and swear to serve the emperor and the ordos xeno and fight the threats to the emperor, wether that be xeno or human.

It wouldnt be a long ceremony but it is take infront of the Omega Vault, you can have the vault open at the end of the ceremony and they players are the ones who delve into the vault to gain the next time that is unlocked.

Dr. Schadenfreude said:

I'm new to Deathwatch and am going to be running a campaign for four of five players who have never played this game before - some of them haven't even encountered the setting. My plan is to open with the "Shadow of Madness" and as a means to introduce the Omega Vault, I'd like to have the team sworn in before it prior to receiving their first mission. The problem is that the rulebook gives no real indication as to what the "Oath of Vigil" entails and that I'm not really sure where to start.

If any of you have any suggestions as to what significant points I should cover and how I can get the team involved, they'd be greatly appreciated.

I too wish I had this when I started. Sadly, its not detailed anywhere.