Model recommendations for the Drachens/Blimps

By ritterton, in Wings of War

Could someone make a few suggestions that a beginner to intermediate modeler could find and build for the Drachens/Blimps???

http://www.amjh.org/photo-1228366-ballon2_jpg.html

Here are custom balloons...but I am not that good at modeling...so, I really need some suggestions towards an on-line solution.

Thanks in advance.

You may want to hold off from making your own blimps, as i've just read something over on Board Game Geek called "Ballon Busters" that may be off interest to you.....and save you a lot of effort too!!

"A special kit for Wings of War miniatures, featuring a 1/144 scale Caquot - Ae800 balloon miniature (good for every nation at war) and an Allied Nieuport 16 with Le Prieur air-to-air rockets. Two versions of the kit are available, with different color schemes for both the balloon and for the airplane."

It is susposed to be released this year, but as of yet, there is nothing set in stone and the price is currently unknown. The only artwork that is available is pictured below, so it may still be a long way off as we dont even know what the picture on the front of the box is going to be yet.

pic404731_md.jpg

pic404679_md.jpg

Hope this helps!

Aaron - thanks for this. I can wait...sure and buy a few more planes before the kits come out. Works for me. I missed this on Boardgamegeek. Should have looked there too! Thank you!

R

I think skytrex do a observation balloon in 1/144 scale. But there doesn't seem to be a picture of it on their site. So as to its quality, I don't know.

Banichi said:

I think skytrex do a observation balloon in 1/144 scale. But there doesn't seem to be a picture of it on their site. So as to its quality, I don't know.

Skytrex used to make an observation balloon... I had contacted their customer service people a month ago or so, and they said there were no plans to bring it back. It was a really sweet looking model, too. sad.gif