FF Talisman + exp pack first impressions

By BrandtP, in Talisman

I have played every edition of Talisman except 3rd. This has been one of my all time favorite boardgames, at least as I look back nostalgically to the 80's. Some of my favorite gaming memories were the games of Talisman played at my friend Gregg's house after I graduated High School, GNR's Appetite for Destruction usually playing in the background (that would not have been my choice, but it helps paint the picture).

So I was delighted to see FF pick this franchise up after BI went good-bye. Especially since this happened just after I received it as a Christmas gift last year. This year I got the Upgrade Pack and the Reaper Expansion.

Re: Upgrade: Call me a fanboi, but I thought this was a great thing FF did. They could have made all the previous edition owners buy the full new FF game, but for a scant $20 US you get all the minis, all the cards, etc. Sure, there's no rulebook, but print it out and you're set. I have one request of FF: please make the cone counters available for separate purchase. The ones from the BI edition are difficult to handle and the numbers are a pain. I can't fault FF for the old artwork on the character sheets, but some of the character portraits are just silly looking. Case in point: is the warrior in pain, or perhaps constipated? Also, nice pink shirt Mr. Thief. I bet you can really hide in the shadows with that ensemble :)

I figured to get the game out in a reasonable amount of time they couldn't completely revamp the art. No harm no foul. Overall I was very pleased with the Upgrade Pack.

Re: Expansion: Wow, that's a whole lot of new cards. Components were great, better artwork on the character cards. Nice job.