Lord of Change

By Clamatius, in Warhammer Invasion Off Topic

I'm just a noob when it comes to Warhammer Online - so it was my first time at the newly redone Siege of Altdorf (the end game battle).

Anyway, I'd been thinking about Lord of Change decks that day, so I was a bit surprised when a Lord of Change showed up to help my Sorceress's team!

Lord of Change

This kind of thing makes my inner geek happy.

There were no Order defending Altdorf this time so it was no problem. One of the mechanics in the city siege is that 4 players get chosen at random to be Champions for their side - you suddenly become 30 feet tall with 20x your normal HP - and it was me! Destruction fans will be pleased to know that I duly gave Emperor Franz -1 HP. As it were.

Sorceress Champion vs. Emperor Franz

Hate the end game with no defenders crap...

Yeah, that did seem deeply weird. But eh, I'm at the tourist stage at this point going around looking at a map all the time so I'll take it.

Apparently that's a common occurance... the rewards to defend under motivate defenders. Gratz on under powered destro getting to King!

It's been one of the problems with the game generally - the reward from fighting an undefended keep/objective/etc is greater than fighting a stronger force and losing. That leads to the "RvDoor" mechanic where people avoid conflict for guaranteed rewards.

Hopefully the next patch with the "Against All Odds" mechanic will go some way to fixing that.

I'm still enjoying the game a lot though, more than ever now I'm playing with the same people most of the time.