First Character: Barbarian King Olaf!

By Frozencore, in Descent Home Brews

I am brand new to the custom Descent character scene, and after reading some of the cool ideas in this forum I decided to try one of my own.

BarbarainKingOlaf.jpg

Now I don't have access to the original rules for creating custom characters as every link to them seems to be broken. I tried to make him as balanced as possible within his concept based on looking at the original characters and those posted here.

Basically he is a risk vs. reward type character, who can give great benefits to himself and his allies at great peril to the mission if his ability is mistimed and he dies. I wanted a way for him to regain the health slowly, and wanted it to be necessary that he do so by mixing it up in combat rather than just spending fatigue.

Any constructive criticism is much appreciated, thank you for your time.

FFG's published hero creation rules can be found near the bottom of the Descent Support Page , but I don't recommend using them; they don't actually allow for very much customization, they're hard to use, and they've got some significant balance issues. My own hero editor can be found here , on BoardGameGeek.

That's a very good combination of attributes; higher than average stats, plus completely focused traits and skills. Neither FFG's rules nor my editor allow that combination, ignoring abilities (though it's only a tiny amount over budget in both cases), nor does any official hero have an attribute line like that. You should probably consider lowering his stats or splitting up his traits and skills.

As for the ability, it's not clear when he's supposed to choose to activate the first part...also, since the effects expire at the end of the turn, he would normally only be able to boost one hero's attacks (or all heroes' Guard orders during the overlord's turn). Not sure if that's what you meant.