A few newbie questions.

By player600456, in Call of Cthulhu LCG

Greetings.

I am new to this game so I would like some help from you, kind people :) To avoid spamming the place I shall put all of my questions into this thread.

My question is: If I commit a card to a story and my opponent chooses NOT to defend that story do I still get to refresh my card if I have arcane icon(s) and do I get one bonus succes token if i have investigation icon(s)? I suppose battle and terror are useless since I don't have an opponent?

Thanks for your help :)

Baron Vortis said:

Greetings.

I am new to this game so I would like some help from you, kind people :) To avoid spamming the place I shall put all of my questions into this thread.

My question is: If I commit a card to a story and my opponent chooses NOT to defend that story do I still get to refresh my card if I have arcane icon(s) and do I get one bonus succes token if i have investigation icon(s)? I suppose battle and terror are useless since I don't have an opponent?

Welcome! You know this is where the horror begins right?

1) Yes. When you commit to a story and have no opposition, you technically still go through each struggle, but don't terror anyone, don't kill anyone, but you would refresh a character cause you won the arcane struggle, and get a token if you win the investigation struggle.

2) Yes. If at the end of the struggles, when you look at your skills if you don't have 0 and your opponent does, you get an extra token for him being uncommitted. Even if your opponent did commit characters and they were removed over the course of the struggles, you still would get an extra token if hes at 0, and your not at 0 skill (I say this because you may have only 0 skill guys and not be eligible for the extra token).