Character Creation Advice Sought

By centerfire, in Star Wars: Edge of the Empire RPG

I'm coming back to EotE after a several-years-long hiatus, and I'm struggling with the best way to build out a character concept with an eye towards a long-term campaign.

The concept is that of an educated but rakish Core Worlds doctor who's come out to the Outer Rim seeking adventure, and will reinvent himself as a gentleman gunslinger over the long run -- think of a Star Wars version of Firefly's Simon Tam to start, and gradually morphing into more of a Doc Holliday-type.

If I build him as a Smuggler/Scoundrel, I'm better set up for the long run in terms of career skills and signature abilities, but unless I spend a bunch of XP to add the Doctor specialization from the jump, then I'm going to have to backfill the character's medical expertise after play begins ("Of course I'm a doctor. Who has no real aptitude for medicine until three sessions into the game."). And if I *do* spend a bunch of XP to add the Doctor specialization from the jump, then I'm going to have that much less available to improve starting attributes and skills, and buy talents.

On the other hand, if I build him as a Colonist/Doctor, then it's a much more natural advancement path -- buy the Scoundrel specialization later, after play begins, to represent the character's growth into the gentleman gunslinger role. But if I do that then I'm locked into the Colonist's signature abilities (which aren't a great fit for the concept) and saddled with the Colonist's career skills (which are suboptimal in the long run).

I'm open to any advice or suggestions other than, "Try building the character using this other archetype from Age of Rebellion/Force and Destiny." This is strictly an Edge campaign.