WIP: A Proper Gaming Table, One Must Have.

By Ghost1, in Star Wars: Legion

So, I had been playing X-wing on a 5ft Round Folding Table with "bed risers" placed under the legs to lift it to a nice height of 40ish inches, which reduced stress on my old disabled lower back for the past couple years. Once I got sucked into Legion this past year, I knew the round table wasn't going to work for my needs. I managed to convince my better half that I "Need a Dedicated" Gaming Table, by pointing out that it would also be a Display Case for my Lego UC Falcon that I haven't been able to put together. Once the green light was given, I began spit-balling designs for the Gaming/Display Table. I wanted Shelves under the Table, with a Large Display area that the top would serve as the Gaming Surface. Now, keep in mind that I am not a professional Carpenter by any stretch of the imagination. Not sure that I even qualify as an Amateur Carpenter to be honest. I consulted with my neighbor regarding the top surface, and after a long conversation between two old grizzled veterans that had little to do with the table, it was strongly suggested to go with Tempered glass for the top surface. I still hadn't decided the overall display area size when I lucked out in a HUGE way by finding a glass top table at a local 2nd hand type furniture store. 1/2 inch thick tempered glass, but it was bigger that I originally was looking for. After a little research on Tempered Glass, I knew that the Table was the best bet. At 42 inches by 72 inches, it was a little bigger than my original design, but for $200.00 US, I wasn't going to get a better deal. Let me tell you, that sucker is pretty heavy. Once that made it into the house it was time to start cutting and building. YEAH!!!!