Vassal Organized Play 2021

By Green Knight, in Star Wars: Armada

The Clone Wars are upon us, and with them, the Armada 1.5 rules and a bunch of errataed cards. The Armada module has received a massive facelift with version 4.0.0, and the lobby is crawling with players. We've just started a relaxed tier CW-only tourney that drew 50+ players in no time. It's a more civilized age for Armada indeed!

The module is a labor of love for me, but I'm VERY pleased to see players use it. Anyway. To keep the momentum, I'm announcing Vassal Organized Play 2021!

I'm thinking quarterly tournaments, plus maybe league play (AFAIK, we haven't tried that yet). I've zero experience with league play, so I'm very interested in feedback regarding how to organize this - or even if it's a good idea in the first place. When I write "quarterly," I'm not rigid with the timing: Q1 means "early in the year, not causing trouble for the WC.

Rather than run these as "plain" events, each event will have a "twist/flavor." Nothing too deviant - we don't want to change too much, just enough to keep things interesting. Nothing set in stone ATM, just brainstorming and sharing my ideas with the community. If you want plain, you'll get plain 🙂

Quarterly Tournaments

Q1: Another CW-only one, with wave 10 for a more complete experience.
Q2: All 4 factions allowed. Limited selection of objectives (based on data from previous tourneys, 4 most-used objectives of each category banned).
Q3: Bog-standard... except... time-limited! Using the Chess clock from Vassal 3.5, each player has 1 h 30 mins. I'll arrange for some prize support.
Q4: Something a bit left-field: a "Hyperspace Event" for Armada. This concept is taken from X-wing, where a variable array of ships and upgrades are available (changes a couple of times each year). So maybe Imps can't take Mithel. But the ISD-1 can take a Defensive Retro. I'll provide fleet builder support for this.