Must. Try. Everything.

By Asaverino1019, in X-Wing Squad Lists

In an attempt to get out of my rut of lists built around Ruthless Interceptors, B-wings, and Finch/Vennie, I've decided to start making lists that mostly include ships and upgrades I've never used before. The goal is to try out as many new components as possible, and only include "usuals" if they synergize with a new ability. Here is my inaugural list for spamming unfamiliar upgrades:

(33) Jarek Yeager [Fireball]
(4) R6-D8 Astromech
(2) Kaz's Fireball
(2) Coaxium Hyperfuel

(47) Lieutenant Bastian [T-70 X-wing]
(3) R3 Astromech - Reuse
(3) Underslung Blast Cannon
(4) Targeting Synchronizer - Reuse

(49) Nimi Chereen [T-70 X-wing]
(3) Underslung Blast Cannon

(36) Nodin Chavdri [Resistance Transport]
(3) Tractor Beam - Reuse
(6) Korr Sella
(4) Larma D'Arcy

Total points: 199

Overall I was pleased with this list. Nodin/Korr/Larma was an awesome combo and was able to keep one X-wing double moded most of the game while retaining her own combat efficacy. Underslung blaster was a nice addition, and by the late game it accounted for the only shots my X-wings were able to take. I'm not sure if the 13 points for the whole set up of two blasters, Synchronizer, and R3 is worth it when you can have two copies of Snap Shot at 14 points with fewer usage restrictions. As I was mainly flying against I5s, Nimi's ability was great. Unfortunately I was rarely able to capitalize on it because I forget about Synchronizer on Bastian and spent most of Nimi's actions on target locks for the blaster. I can see where the Coaxium/Fireball combo could be useful, but the one time I got it to go off I pulled a Direct Hit which kept me from attempting a stressed slam for the rest of the game. On the other hand I feel like R6 may be under costed. There was only 1 attack all game where Yeager wasn't able to use R6's ability on at least 1 die.