GM: How to deal with unknown powers?

By aljovin, in Star Wars: Force and Destiny RPG

SPOILER ALERT: There is a small spoiler for a published adventure.

I'm looking for some guidance; I've been GMing for over 35 years, but with the FFG's Star Wars, I'm getting some different "guidance" in some published adventures.

How do you deal with "unknown powers", for example, in many adventures, there is information on "if the characters wants to ....", but those were fine, most of the time, but how does the player knows that there is such a thing a an Hyperdrive pulse generator to calibrate?

The latest example I have is the following in one of the adventures:

Facing down the den mother in combat (...) if their sympathies for her condition incline
them against harming the den mother, the PCs can also attempt
to assault the dark side energies driving her fury. Doing
so requires closing to engaged range with the den mother and
making an Average () Discipline check as an action during
combat, representing an attempt to reach out to the remnants
of the den mother’s mind

In this case, I don't see how the players can say "You know what, I feel for that mother, I'll try to purge her from the Dark Side", there is no ability on the character's sheet that hints that it's something that could work. Maybe we're just too used to think "I need the Sense power to affect in any way that animal". or would you complete the player's thought:

Player: That's not the animal fault that it is angry.

GM: You may use the force to calm her

Player: How?

GM: Make a discipline check at....

OR:

GM: Do a Mechanic check at easy/Average/Hard (or a Knowledge lore/Discipline for the Force power)

Player : Got it 3 successes

GM: You know that there is an Hyperdrive pulse gnerator that can be calibrated (You may be able to cleanse the Dark Side of the beast by ...)

Is it how it should be dealt with?

28 minutes ago, aljovin said: