Advice on Decapitating Rebel Troopers...

By oreet, in Painting

...no, this isn't the Empire's wrath. I bought a few sets of alien heads on Shapeways. I have a box of Rebel Troopers and a box of Fleet Troopers that are going to become alien units instead of human units.

The Fleet Troopers should be easy enough. None of their heads are attached, so I just need to snip off the pin on the top of the torso, drill a hole down, and glue the heads in.

The Rebel Troopers are a different story. All but one of them have their heads attached to their necks. What would be the best way to remove those heads without ruining the rest of the model? I'm not good at sculpting, so if I needed to rebuild a shoulder or something with green stuff, it may not look great.

0TncwzO.jpg

29486955618d8584670cb01826cb2e2a.jpg

...and for anyone interested in the alien heads, they came from here:
https://www.shapeways.com/shops/mel_miniatures

Edited by oreet

I use some boiling water and a scalpel. Dip the head of the mini in the water, which softens up the resin, then the scalpel can make an incredibly smooth cut.

15 minutes ago, TheGoldfinch said:

I use some boiling water and a scalpel. Dip the head of the mini in the water, which softens up the resin, then the scalpel can make an incredibly smooth cut.

Would a fresh/new X-acto knife blade work with this process too?

3 minutes ago, oreet said:

Would a fresh/new X-acto knife blade work with this process too?

Should do, I use a similar one from army painter.

10 hours ago, oreet said:

The Rebel Troopers are a different story. All but one of them have their heads attached to their necks. What would be the best way to remove those heads without ruining the rest of the model? I'm not good at sculpting, so if I needed to rebuild a shoulder or something with green stuff, it may not look great.