Bombing Run questions

By buckero0, in Rules

Maybe we don't know the answers to this yet but;

What happens when a unit with the bomb panics and leaves the board? Do they take the bomb token with them?

Does the unit that dropped the bomb have to detonate it? What if they are destroyed?

What's to prevent you from dropping your bomb in your deployment zone and score that way. You don't get to bomb the opponent unless they come close but you'd srill score, right?

If a unit is panicking they drop any claimed objectives.

"If a player’s unit leader with a claimed objective token becomes panicked or is defeated, before they remove or move the unit leader, that player flips the objective token to its unclaimed side and places it back onto the battlefield in the same position and in base contact with the unit leader. The objective token remains on the battlefield where it was placed and can be claimed again as normal.
» An objective token that has been claimed by a unit leader cannot leave the battlefield or be place fully or partially outside of the battlefield at any point." RR, p. 57.

Edited by Staelwulf

1. Panicked units drop objective tokens before they move.

2. No, the card states that at the end of a round, each player MAY detonate 1 bomb token that was flipped to its unclaimed side by a unit that they control. So, I don't know if dropping it due to panic still counts as fulfilling the condition to allow you to detonate it (I assume that technically you still could because it would be flipped to its unclaimed side upon being dropped), but the unit that was carrying the bomb certainly doesn't need to be alive to detonate the bomb.

3. The card states that when a bomb is detonated in or within range 1 of a player's deployment zone, their OPPONENT gets the victory points for it. So detonating your bombs in your own deployment would be an inadvisable course of action because bombs would be detonating in or within range 1 of your deployment zone, giving your opponent the victory points. This is worded like this because the bombs are neutral items, meaning that "your" bombs that you start with can be picked up by your opponent (or vice versa) if dropped, if you choose not to detonate them before they are claimed by your opponent's unit, and carried back into your deployment and detonated by them.

Edited by Silent132
2 hours ago, buckero0 said:

What's to prevent you from dropping your bomb in your deployment zone and score that way. You don't get to bomb the opponent unless they come close but you'd srill score, right?

Read the card again, particularly the part on the bottom after Victory.

2 hours ago, buckero0 said:

Does the unit that dropped the bomb have to detonate it? What if they are destroyed?

The card doesn't say anything to lead us to believe that the unit that drops it detonates the bomb or needs to survive.

1 hour ago, arnoldrew said:

The card doesn't say anything to lead us to believe that the unit that drops it detonates the bomb or needs to survive.

How does the unit control it if it isn't on thw board, or does it refer to player?

3 minutes ago, buckero0 said:

How does the unit control it if it isn't on thw board, or does it refer to player?

The card says that the players can detonate 1 token, so at that point it is no longer linked to any unit. Each player simply chooses an objective token that one of their own units droped that round and detonates it.