Does "You Serve Your Master Well" Spend the Attack Action for the Turn?

By Cruzer, in Rules

Ran into this scenario just this weekend where I had Op Luke turn a squad of snows against their stormy friends (for a perfect flamer/frag grenade kill). My opponent and I were a little unclear on whether that spent the snow's attack for the turn though since it wasn't him using it. My argument was "if Leia and Veers' 1-pip doesn't grant them an extra attack, this one would spend the affected unit's attack as well" in conjunction with "'Son of Skywalker' DOES specify the attack as a second attack". Thoughts?

1 hour ago, Cruzer said:

Ran into this scenario just this weekend where I had Op Luke turn a squad of snows against their stormy friends (for a perfect flamer/frag grenade kill). My opponent and I were a little unclear on whether that spent the snow's attack for the turn though since it wasn't him using it. My argument was "if Leia and Veers' 1-pip doesn't grant them an extra attack, this one would spend the affected unit's attack as well" in conjunction with "'Son of Skywalker' DOES specify the attack as a second attack". Thoughts?

They can attack as normal during their activation.

The limitation of 1 attack action is per activation, not per turn.

Edited by Lemmiwinks86
3 minutes ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:

They can attack as normal during their activation.

The limitation of 1 attack action is per activation, not per turn.

Fascinating. So attacking outside of an activation does not spend the attack for their activation, nor does attacking during their activation prevent them from performing an attack with this command after?

Correct. This is also why a unit can attack twice with Palpatine's "Pulling the strings". Once during its activation and a second time because of the ability.

Edited by Staelwulf

By the way, it looks like you are interpreting wrongly the 1 pip card for leia and veers.

Those cards allow the model to attack with the weapon depicted on the card.

That is not an "attack action" do same model can attack normslly during its activation (if able).

Every word in legion has a very definite definition: attack is not attack action

Just so you know, there's no limitation on how many attacks a unit can perform in a round or acitvation. However, a unit can only perform any particular ACTION once per activation, with the exception of a move action. There's no limitation whatsoever on number of attacks. If something lets you perform an attack (like Luke's command card Son of Skywalker) then it's not an ACTION and doesn't count. As the above person commented as well, Leia nd Veers' 1-pip command cards also let them perform attacks, not attack ACTIONS. They can take an attack action to attack with their normal weapons and then attack with the command card at the end of their activation.

20 hours ago, toffolone said:

By the way, it looks like you are interpreting wrongly the 1 pip card for leia and veers.

Those cards allow the model to attack with the weapon depicted on the card.

That is not an "attack action" do same model can attack normslly during its activation (if able).

Every word in legion has a very definite definition: attack is not attack action

https://images.app.goo.gl/FRB53JSQg4wqCvL4A

I... have been interpreting these cards very wrong...