Hobbit Deck Strategy for Black Riders

By etmoore, in Strategy and deck-building

I recently purchased the Black Riders expansion and thought it would be fun to play 4 out of the 5 hobbits it comes with. I know that isn't a requirement, but it seemed thematically appropriate enough to at least try. So I've made several iterations of a Frodo, Sam, Merry, and Pippin deck. I have played the Shadow of the Past quest 4 times now and each time I can get to 3b but eventually my threat reaches 50 or the Black Riders destroy my hobbits one by one. It seems like a great deck up until that point. Is it possible to beat this quest with the hobbits, or does FFG anticipate you'll compensate with other characters? I am relatively new to the game. I started back in December and have 1 core set, the first 2 Shadows of Mirkwood adventure packs, and the Lost Realm deluxe expansion. And now the Black Riders. So my card pool isn't huge. Does anybody have any suggestions? I know more cards would be helpful, and when the funds arrive, more cards there shall be! But any help in the meantime would be great. Thanks to anybody who can help!

I've beaten that quest with the three hobbit decklist contained in Black Riders. How similar are the decks you are constructing? From the expansions you have, I think Dunedain Warning (for Sam) is the one card I would *definitely* want in the deck. Gather Information can also extend the time spent on stage one.