Sell me on this

By Stevey86, in Star Wars: Force and Destiny RPG

I really want to start playing a Star Wars RPG with my son.

2 things. 1, I don’t like that this is split into 3 games. And 2, I hate the new canon.

Is it worth getting one of the FFG books? Or should I try and get hold of the 2007, or even the 1996 RPG?

Yes, it’s worth it. Just pick the theme you two would like the best.

Worth it. And there is relatively little of the new canon present in the material.

Pick the core book that best suits your intended theme, grab the sourcebooks for the careers you will use, and go from there.

One of the Beginner box sets might be a good way to start, if you’re not sure. I’ve been playing with my son for a few years now.

The narrative dice are a barrier to entry for some, but once you get used to them, they are awesome. I actually didn't get in to RPGs until I found the narrative dice system because I didn't like d20 systems. If you need me to make more of a case, I'll do so.

If you don't want to buy more than one Core Rulebook, I'd suggest figuring out which theme you want, and sticking with it. EotE is the most versatile by far, and I think that the Obligation mechanic is the most compelling and useful, and while it is not the most simple, it is still pretty easy to understand. If you are specifically interested in the force, then you could go with Force and Destiny, and of course for Rebels you would go with Age of Rebellion. EotE allows you to play both of those themes, but you are much more limited in specializations, advice, and additional information. That said, you can often get more (and sometimes better) information by browsing the forum.

This system is great, and I highly encourage you to buy into it. If you get a beginner game, you also get a set of dice. A single set of dice is enough, but 2 sets of dice is probably the most efficient number (each pack really ought to have an additional Force die and Challenge die though).