Burden of the ring deck

By wyrm187, in Strategy and deck-building

I wanted to make something semi-thematic and fun to play. I am by no means an expert at this game but I've been playing since the beginning and still love it. I also wanted to get Gollum in there with Sam, Frodo and the One Ring to see if I could make it all work. With plenty of time on my hands I've been testing this and having a lot of fun with it.

The focus of the deck is to get the unique allies out and pump them up with power of command. This tends to be more of a quest heavy deck that supplements a combat deck nicely. I always play solo 2 handed, so I'm not sure how this deck perform true solo but my guess is not great.

One of the stars of the deck is Rosie Cotton with fast hitch. She can boost during questing and the combat phase which is really effective. Boosted with power of command and she's adding +3 during questing phase.

One of the best cards in there is Drinking Song. I underestimated this card big time. My mulligan is looking for this card. Play the cards you can and get out whatever you can after playing drinking song.

Ive had some nice turn ones with 2-3 strong allies out for cheap, compliments of Timely Aid. Then dumping Rivendell scout and Bill the Pony for free is great. The pony is nice since he's unique he gets the boost from Power of command.

Another great free card is Curious Brandybuck to aid in your quest.

The first 2-3 turns are for using secrecy cards. After that the deck starts rolling and you can start using power of command and Gollum's ability without regret.

Please look at the deck list below and give me some ideas on what to tinker with. The decklist does not include the old sneak attack/ Gandalf combo since I was pairing this with a Gandalf hero deck. He'd be in there otherwise. I'd love for you guys to test it and let me know what you think. Thanks!

Gollum

Sam Gamgee

Leadership Frodo

The One Ring (attached to Frodo)

Attachments