Non-Force Sensitive PCs in a F&D campaign; good/bad idea?

By angelman2, in Star Wars: Force and Destiny RPG

Hey all,

I’m a noob to F&D (i.e. haven’t actually played it yet), and a novice of the FFG SW RPG (have played/ran in a total of 5 sessions), and I have a question. I recently bought a huge collection of used FFG SW RPG books, including several for F&D, so I’ll want to play the published scenarios at some point; in other words, I will be designing a F&D campaign based around those adventures.

My question is, do you guys recommend, for F&D in general and for the published scenarios in particular, all PCs to be Jedi? Or is there enough non-Jedi stuff going on in F&D/scenarios for things like ex-Clone Troopers and random non-Force-y bad-butts to have fun too? (Note, I have SO much FFG SW RPG on my hands right now that I have only skimmed the F&D content).

I am concerned that a Force focus campaign can sideline non-Force Sensitive PCs pretty fast. I find this to be an issue to look out for in regular campaigns with only a single Force Sensitive PC, as the moment you introduce Force stuff the campaign ups the ante but primarily for said Force Sensitive character, and this issue, I imagine, would be doubly relevant in a full Force-based campaign.

So, babbling cut short: What are all y’alls experience with non-Force Sensitive PCs in a Force-heavy campaign?

PS: I am asking from a story POV, not mechanics POV. Do the F&D game/scenarios have enough stuff to keep non-Force'ies interested, or is it better to do a full Jedi-immersion campaign?

Edited by angelman2

I've played in a few different F&D campaigns, and all but one of them had at least one PC who wasn't a Force user of some stripe.

Given that F&D uses the same core system as EotE and AoR, there's no hiccups with having a token muggle amongst a party of Force users.