Combining Offensive Surge and Critical with No offensive surge

By Rocmistro, in Rules

So, yesterday I had a game where the Mark 2 blaster emplacement combined fire with a unit of rebel troopers.

The combined die pool was:

4 black from Mark 2 (critical 2 and offensive surge)

3 black from the rebel troopers

6 white from the z6 rebel trooper

So 13 dice in total (7 black/6 white).

As rebel troopers do not have offensive surge, and the Mark 2 does (along with critical 2), how would one go about determining dice results that produced a "surge" symbol?

-does the Mark 2 grant it's offensive surge to all dice?

-does the Mark 2 only allow for a max of 4 dice (and/or only BLACK dice) to be surged?

-does the Critical 2 only apply to black dice or could white dice from the Z6 also surge?

Edited by Rocmistro

When a weapon is added to a dice pool all of its keywords are also added and apply to the whole pool.

The Mark 2's offensive surge does not apply to the whole pool becuase it is not granted by a keyword.

Offensive surges are on the unit, not the weapon.

So the Rebel troopers are resolving a dice pool that has 7 Black, 6 White, Critical 2, and no Offensive Surge.

Ahhhhh.....yes. Got it. It's not "both units are firing at the same time." It's "the rebel troopers (in this particular scenario) are firing and getting 4 additional black dice with Critical 2". Got it.

That does mean, however, that the white dice COULD offensively surge to crits because of the keyword from the Mark 2, right?

2 minutes ago, Rocmistro said:

Ahhhhh.....yes. Got it. It's not "both units are firing at the same time." It's "the rebel troopers (in this particular scenario) are firing and getting 4 additional black dice with Critical 2". Got it.

That does mean, however, that the white dice COULD offensively surge to crits because of the keyword from the Mark 2, right?

Correct. Critical 2 is applied to the entire dice pool.