2 Questions on Pathfinders

By Rocmistro, in Rules

1. How exactly does the A-300 short/long range config upgrade card work? Does it just add a die of the appropriate type to the attack pool, or does it change every gun a model is carrying to that die? or does it add that die TO every gun that a model is carrying. Secondary to that question (and regardless of the answer) how is one supposed to know the answer just from looking at that card? It doesn't seem obvious to me what the answer is.

2. Can you make a Recon Intel Scout-1 move after Infiltrating to end up closer than range 3 to enemy unit(s)?

1. The A-300 is a different weapon from the one printed on the unit card. It's a weapon upgrade, just like grenades. Refer to page 71 in the RRG:

Quote

Some upgrade cards feature the hard point (󲉸), grenade (󲉾), armament (󲊉), or crew (󲊈) upgrade icons; these are weapon upgrades. These upgrades do not add any minis to a unit; instead, every mini in that unit may use that weapon when attacking the enemy.

This clearly states that how you tell what a weapon upgrade does.

2. Yes you can.

2 minutes ago, Rocmistro said:

1. How exactly does the A-300 short/long range config upgrade card work? Does it just add a die of the appropriate type to the attack pool, or does it change every gun a model is carrying to that die? or does it add that die TO every gun that a model is carrying. Secondary to that question (and regardless of the answer) how is one supposed to know the answer just from looking at that card? It doesn't seem obvious to me what the answer is.

2. Can you make a Recon Intel Scout-1 move after Infiltrating to end up closer than range 3 to enemy unit(s)?

1. The short/long config is set when you deploy the unit. You choose a side and have access to that gun when firing. For instance, if you have the long range config up, you can choose to shoot at range 4 with 4 white + pao or bistan. When at range 3 you do not get to ADD the die to the pool, it is a separate weapon, so you could use the long range config OR the range 3 gun on the card. It just gives you some flexibility on range essentially. The rules that come with the pathfinder box should explain it (black paper folded in the box).

2. Yes. Infiltrate is the deploy, scout is the secondary move afterward.

Thanks guys. Yeah that makes sense about the gun, same as basically what you can do if you have grenades. Got it.