The claim is that an attack that has scatter can re-cohere the targeted unit so that some of its minis are in range 2 of other units friendly to the unit doing the scatter, who have a standby.
So a B1 unit takes a standby, then an enemy trooper unit stops just out of range 2 of the B1s. Dooku moves up and does a ranged attack on the same enemy troopers. The claim is that the enemy trooper‘s re-cohereing will trigger the standby of the B1s cause the enemy trooper’s minis were now placed in range 2.
The claimant quotes pg 61 of the RRG under Scatter as their explanation as to why this works: “Scatter: The scatter keyword allows an attacking unit to send the defender into disarray. After a unit performs an attack using a weapon with the scatter keyword against a trooper unit whose minis are affixed to small bases, it may move any non-unit leader minis in the defending unit, following all the rules of cohesion, as if the defending unit leader had just performed a standard move .”
I argue that the bolded section is taken out of context and the first part of that sentence is more relevant. “...it may move any non-unit leader minis in the defending unit, following all the rules of cohesion , as if the defending unit leader had just performed a standard move. “ Its stating that it should follow the rules of cohesion as if they had moved, not that this is a move. Cohesion is not an action, or a movement, it is something that happens after movement (or in this case, after an attack), and does not and can not trigger movement based keywords. It is not the same as Force Push and shouldn’t be.
I’m surprised this needs clarification, but what’s everyone’s take on this? Is there better clarification, or do we need to ask the devs?