Scatter Can Trigger Standby For A Friendly Unit?

By JediPartisan, in Rules

The claim is that an attack that has scatter can re-cohere the targeted unit so that some of its minis are in range 2 of other units friendly to the unit doing the scatter, who have a standby.

So a B1 unit takes a standby, then an enemy trooper unit stops just out of range 2 of the B1s. Dooku moves up and does a ranged attack on the same enemy troopers. The claim is that the enemy trooper‘s re-cohereing will trigger the standby of the B1s cause the enemy trooper’s minis were now placed in range 2.

The claimant quotes pg 61 of the RRG under Scatter as their explanation as to why this works: “Scatter: The scatter keyword allows an attacking unit to send the defender into disarray. After a unit performs an attack using a weapon with the scatter keyword against a trooper unit whose minis are affixed to small bases, it may move any non-unit leader minis in the defending unit, following all the rules of cohesion, as if the defending unit leader had just performed a standard move .”

I argue that the bolded section is taken out of context and the first part of that sentence is more relevant. “...it may move any non-unit leader minis in the defending unit, following all the rules of cohesion , as if the defending unit leader had just performed a standard move. “ Its stating that it should follow the rules of cohesion as if they had moved, not that this is a move. Cohesion is not an action, or a movement, it is something that happens after movement (or in this case, after an attack), and does not and can not trigger movement based keywords. It is not the same as Force Push and shouldn’t be.

I’m surprised this needs clarification, but what’s everyone’s take on this? Is there better clarification, or do we need to ask the devs?

If the scatter was supposed to be treated as a movement, then the wording of the last part should be "treat the defending unit as if it had performed a standard move, but do not change the location of the unit leader," "perform a speed 0 move with the targeted unit,", or something else to that effect. The current wording is clearly only modifying the part before the comma, explaining how to move the non-leader minis, providing a well understood example to explain this unique situation.

It's worded the way it is to avoid triggering other effects, at least in my opinion. Nothing stops you from emailing the Devs though, especially since they always have the option of ignoring your question if it is considered too obvious.

20 minutes ago, Caimheul1313 said:

If the scatter was supposed to be treated as a movement, then the wording of the last part should be "treat the defending unit as if it had performed a standard move, but do not change the location of the unit leader," "perform a speed 0 move with the targeted unit,", or something else to that effect. The current wording is clearly only modifying the part before the comma, explaining how to move the non-leader minis, providing a well understood example to explain this unique situation.

It's worded the way it is to avoid triggering other effects, at least in my opinion. Nothing stops you from emailing the Devs though, especially since they always have the option of ignoring your question if it is considered too obvious.

That’s what I thought too. I may email the devs, but it seems silly to bother them over this. I thought it was pretty clear, but I think it’s a matter of people reading in what they want to happen, not what’s actually written (I’ve done it too, accidentally on purpose 😆 ).

There is dubiety in the writing. There is a difference between Cohere as if you had just performed a move, and having this have all the triggers that a normal move does.

i just heard this on an episode of Jedi acedemy

22 minutes ago, Darth evil said:

i just heard this on an episode of Jedi acedemy

Do tell. 😋

1 hour ago, Chickenpuppy said:

Do tell. 😋

well in the last episode Joe was discussing how to set up the B1 units so that Dooku can then scatter them and trigger standby

1 hour ago, Darth evil said:

well in the last episode Joe was discussing how to set up the B1 units so that Dooku can then scatter them and trigger standby

Hmm, if that's what he said then it was certainly incorrect. Scatter is not a move and does not trigger standby.

But you can use it to help get the unit closer to you and into Force Push range, and use that to trigger some standbys!

1 hour ago, Darth evil said:

well in the last episode Joe was discussing how to set up the B1 units so that Dooku can then scatter them and trigger standby

It's great he was discussing that, but he's wrong.

I contacted FFG and just got an official answer from Alex Davy: Scatter does not trigger Standby.

I will post a screenshot once I have access to a computer so I can scrub personal info.

image.png.0e041a6dcb3d3fc22b566b0338d0c9e1.png

Edited by Caimheul1313