Force push and melee

By rafparis, in Rules

Hi,

in the last FFG live, i have seen that dooku used force push on an enemy unit, and moved all the troopers in contact with him. Isn't it that the leader must be at 1 move of dooku to initiate a melee?

What if you use force push, move the leader 1, then, in cohesion with this leader, place the other minis in CC range of yourself? Are you in melee or not?

Right, the unit leader must reach base contact in order to start a melee. You can’t use cohesion of your other minis to start the melee.

What exactly happened in the live stream? Using force push to start a melee is definitely legal.

Edited by nashjaee
5 minutes ago, nashjaee said:

Right, the unit leader must reach base contact in order to start a melee. You can’t use cohesion of your other minis to start the melee.

What exactly happened in the live stream? Using force push to start a melee is definitely legal.

The leader was farther than 1 move from dooku, but they initiated the melee anyway with the other troopers touching dooku after the push.
Edited by rafparis
7 minutes ago, rafparis said:

Hi,

in the last FFG live, i have seen that dooku used force push on an enemy unit, and moved all the troopers in contact with him. Isn't it that the leader must be at 1 move of dooku to initiate a melee?

What if you use force push, move the leader 1, then, in cohesion with this leader, place the other minis in CC range of yourself? Are you in melee or not?

Rules 9/9/2019

Having a hard time understanding what you are asking. For force push, you choose a unit at range 1 of you. This range can be measured from any member of that unit. If you are in range, the player controlling the force user performs a speed 1 move from the unit in range. this cannot be a clamber or a push off of the board. You may also cohere the unit. you cannot cohere into melee.

1 minute ago, Cleto0 said:

Rules 9/9/2019 you cannot cohere into melee.

and this is what they did: they initiated the melee with the regular troopers, the leader was too far away. Where in the rules it is written that you cannot cohere into melee?

So you force push a unit to you -> you move the leader 1 move range, he is not touching you -> you move the rest of the unit in coesion with the leader, but touching you. That's what tehy did on the twitch stream.

3 minutes ago, rafparis said:

The leader was farther than 1 move from dooku, but they initiated the melee anyway with the other troopers touching dooku after the push.

The clip won't play for me, but based on that description that wasn't a legal move.

1 minute ago, rafparis said:

Where in the rules it is written that you cannot cohere into melee?

Page 48 is what you're looking for. There isn't anything that says "you can't cohere into melee", but the steps for starting a melee say that you do so by moving the unit leader into base contact.

3 minutes ago, rafparis said:

and this is what they did: they initiated the melee with the regular troopers, the leader was too far away. Where in the rules it is written that you cannot cohere into melee?

So you force push a unit to you -> you move the leader 1 move range, he is not touching you -> you move the rest of the unit in coesion with the leader, but touching you. That's what tehy did on the twitch stream.

Can you give me a time stamp? the clip will not play, I will check it out

Edit: you can start melee from any member of a squad, but you cannot trigger it off of cohesion

Edited by Cleto0
7 hours ago, Cleto0 said:

Can you give me a time stamp? the clip will not play, I will check it out

Edit: you can start melee from any member of a squad, but you cannot trigger it off of cohesion

It is at 1h36 time stamp

The devs don't know their own rules, sounds about right

1 hour ago, rafparis said:

It is at 1h36 time stamp

Oh he didn't actually measure the move. It's hard to tell, especially because it's not clear which one was the leader, but they were likely in range to enter melee if one of the closer two minis was the leader. The exact spot that he placed the leader (whichever one it was) was probably too far, but it appears he could legally reach base contact.