Basing Technique Question

By Lochlan, in Painting

I have peen pondering for a while how I wanted to base my CIS models. I was originally leaning towards using the same style I have been using for the rest of my models, but seeing @Polda 's very eye-catching bases for his CIS made me want to try something with a bit more flair.

While watching random restoration videos on YouTube, I stumbled onto the following image that really caught my eye:

zf7uFia.jpg

This really reminded me of many of the false-color images of Mercury:

P24Iw0H.jpg

It also kind of reminds me of sulfur deposits from hot springs:

6mWrpVz.jpg

The question, then, is how to recreate this effect on the base (ideally quickly and easily, since I will need to do it many times over). Anyone have any suggestions, or links/images of similar bases/terrain pieces?

I'm not an expert, but I've seen yellow paint watered down might work..

Man, that looks a bit tough. It’s a complicated surface and I don’t have any experience doing one like that. But I think breaking it down into components might help.

1 texture: The surface you are trying to emulate has a rocky, uneven texture. There are readily available texture paints that will give either a sandy or a cracked mud appearance. This might be close enough for you. Otherwise you might want different layers in the base. You could do this with spackle/filler or with cork, depending on how big you want layers to be. Both will require a bit of effort.

2. colors: It seems like the effect you are going for is really caused by the juxtaposition of quite different colors. A dark gray, with a bright yellow dusty and then even rust and cool blue in some images. You can recreate this with paints, but I expect it will be challenging to combine this with textures to recreate what you see in the images.

I can think of some things I would try, but none are what I would call quick and easy.