The Roles Have Been Freed

By DarkHorse, in Legend of the Five Rings: The Card Game

As just announced by Tyler at Winter Court when the clans were about to pick the new roles, the roles are now freed.

If you don't know what this means, it means that you can pick whichever of the 10 elemental roles you like to use and build your deck accordingly.

I dont think this was a good play. I hope time proofs me wrong.

This is great and will hopefully revitalize the game.

I have always thought that soft cycling was a nice way to keep the card pool more fluid though I don't like how ultimately the role selection was implemented. Now that roles are freed I hope it does do work toward introducing multiple competitive deck builds for each clan. As a deck builder I am sort of excited by that.

I actually hope its gonna be a mix. Like this season roles are freed, then next half of the yr after the next big tourney Roles are implemented again.

I think this gives variety on what we do on tourneys for the whole year.

Edited by Yogo Rye X

I love that it is because of players' choice, this feels very much like the good ol' days. My only concern is that the clans each know what the "best" role for them is, and that's all we'll see. So, unless there's a hot new mix of really cool role-locked cards coming out soon, this might actually reduce deck variety.

IMO it's going to change from a small group of elite players dictating the meta directly to a small group of elite players directing the meta indirectly so there's no difference to me.

Even if what you say is true, now I can go against the grain and prove that my deck is better (or not!). But having the choice is great! There were events I did not attend this season because I could not play the deck I wanted and that clearly sucked for me. So if even 1 player gets the chance to play what he wants then that is a plus in my book.