Who Created the LCG Business Model?

By slope123, in Legend of the Five Rings: The Card Game

Hello, I am a college student working on writing a report on Fantasy Flight Games and their innovative decision to use the Living Card Game business model, however, I can't seem to figure out who actually came up with the idea of the living card game. My best guess is the designer on the first LCG Nate French, however, there doesn't seem to be anything confirming or denying that information.

If there are any LCG veterans on here who remember the early days and know some sort of information that could help me that would be much appreciated.

btw, I also posted this on the main LCG thread, but that one seems rather inactive so I decided to also post it here to get more traffic.

Nate French is the last man standing probably from that era, but at the time Christian Petersen, Corey Konieczka, Damon Stone and Eric Lang all still worked at the company. Eric Lang was very involved with the designs of the early LCGs. My educated guess is to say Christian was the motivation for the business model change considering he was the guy in charge. Also he was very hands on with the games early in the company's life, but I've never heard an interview covering those topics. I suspect you'll maybe need to write the company to ask for details if you wanna go in depth on the topic.

It's important that first LCG card game was a just active TCG game (AFAIK Call of Ctulhu CCG) and they changed its distribution model during its life.

PS. ATM FFG leaves LCG model for competitive games and focus more on TCG/Unique stuff. AGoT and L5R are actually last and only competetive LCG games. And only L5R have bright future as they announed they drop actual system for AGoT and focus on deluxe expansions only. And that for 99% means game is going to be closed down.

Edited by kempy