Eight Decisions for Four Families

By Glorious Chief, in Your Stories

Hello everyone, Earlier this year I finished my first time GMing of FFG's Star Wars. It was fun and challenging but was not entirely fulfilling mechanics wise. Me and another more veteran player took a look at L5R and fell in love. The book itself is gorgeous and the rules and setting seem to fit much better with FFG's dice mechanics.

So naturally, I will be running the game so my players can run around being samurai. I have been busy reading the rules when I can and have recently developed a rough outline of a story for the campaign. I am still VERY new to the setting so I hope my idea fits into it. I do not have time to jump into a premade story and learn it in time as a player may leave soon. Hence, just jumping in.

Below is a brief outline of my story as it sits in my head. I do not mind some minor feedback on them. I have more details to share but as I am on my phone, I cannot at the moment. Some of it is very rough and may be rewritten to make more sense:

Eight Decisions for Four Families (working Campaign title)

Four ronin families are vying to join one of the minor clans ( Monkey , Sparrow and Hare ).

All have earned hard won reputations as being reliable ronin families, often working alongside the major and minor clans.

Protecting villages from bandits, settling disputes between minor clans and their families and even absorbing other ronin and turning them into honorable samurai and members of Rokugan society.

One family has a long, deeply held grudge against 2 of the minor clans. They aim to use their favors with one of the other minor clans to weaken the other 2.

They also see the other 3 ronin families joining the minor clans as problematic because they could not only strengthen those clans but, they could also expose some of the more unsavory aspects of their family due to the harsh life ronin sometimes live.