Friendly units and range

By Darth Sanguis, in Rules

Here's the question.

Is a friendly unit considered at range one of itself?

In Armada I know the answer is yes, and logic does seem to dictate that would be the answer here as well but I wanted to be sure.

If a friendly unit is at range one of itself...
latest?cb=20181109230129 latest?cb=20180404061148

That means that Veers and spotter for himself and Palpatine can pull the strings himself?

47 minutes ago, Darth Sanguis said:

Here's the question.

Is a friendly unit considered at range one of itself?

In Armada I know the answer is yes, and logic does seem to dictate that would be the answer here as well but I wanted to be sure.

If a friendly unit is at range one of itself...
latest?cb=20181109230129 latest?cb=20180404061148

That means that Veers and spotter for himself and Palpatine can pull the strings himself?

Yes, a unit is at range 1 of itself. I couldn't find a generic written rule but there's this:

"A nominated unit is at range 1 of itself."

That is speaking of a nominated commander or operative, but I can't find a reason why that shouldn't apply to every other aspect of the game.

Just out of curiosity, why would you want Palpatine to pull the strings on himself?

5 minutes ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:

Just out of curiosity, why would you want Palpatine to pull the strings on himself?

He probably thinks he can use it to attack twice.

Just now, arnoldrew said:

He probably thinks he can use it to attack twice.

The RRG page 51:

"The attack granted by the pulling the strings ability does not count against that unit's one attack action during its activation that round."

Am I interpreting this wrong, palpatine could attack twice this way, yes?

On 6/19/2019 at 11:22 AM, Lemmiwinks86 said:

Just out of curiosity, why would you want Palpatine to pull the strings on himself? 

If he's in position, 2 attacks per turn is hella nice.

Edited by Darth Sanguis
corrected lol
51 minutes ago, Darth Sanguis said:

The RRG page 51:

"The attack granted by the pulling the strings ability does not count against that unit's one attack action during its activation that round."

Am I interpreting this wrong, palpatine could attack twice this way, yes?

Read the initial paragraph. It says that it has to be "another" friendly trooper. I wish they had put that in the reminder text. The sentence you quoted is clarifying that you can pull the strings to make a unit attack and then later when they activate they can attack again.

47 minutes ago, Darth Sanguis said:

Any number of reasons. Being speed one getting an extra move before "and now you will die" to get in position is nice. If he's in position, 2 attacks per turn is hella nice.

You can just move again instead of using pull the strings to move. Move is the only action you can do more than once per activation.

10 minutes ago, arnoldrew said:

Read the initial paragraph. It says that it has to be "another" friendly trooper. I wish they had put that in the reminder text. The sentence you quoted is clarifying that you can pull the strings to make a unit attack and then later when they activate they can attack again.

Ah, I see it now, the card itself just says "friendly" not "another friendly" weird that isn't on the card itself.


Nonetheless, the RRG specifies "another" clearly, so that's settled...

Edited by Darth Sanguis
Nevermind that second one, pull the strings is an action lol
1 hour ago, Darth Sanguis said:

Ah, I see it now, the card itself just says "friendly" not "another friendly" weird that isn't on the card itself.


Nonetheless, the RRG specifies "another" clearly, so that's settled...

Yeah, the stuff on the cards aren't actually rules, they are just "reminder text." The RRG is the actual rules. It's kind of a pain for newer players when the reminder text doesn't really line up with the rules, such as in the Palp and Veers case above.

Edit: just to clarify, I was referring to the fact that the rmeinder text for Spotter and Pulling the Strings are worded similarly but when you look in the RRG you see that you can use Spotter to give Veers an Aim token but you can't use Pulling the Strings on Palp.

Edited by arnoldrew
34 minutes ago, arnoldrew said:

Yeah, the stuff on the cards aren't actually rules, they are just "reminder text." The RRG is the actual rules. It's kind of a pain for newer players when the reminder text doesn't really line up with the rules, such as in the Palp and Veers case above.

Edit: just to clarify, I was referring to the fact that the rmeinder text for Spotter and Pulling the Strings are worded similarly but when you look in the RRG you see that you can use Spotter to give Veers an Aim token but you can't use Pulling the Strings on Palp.

Yeah I noticed that. I immediately looked up Spotter after you pointed out Pulling the Strings. I was about to panic. I often use Spotter to give Veers an aim for his command card attack as well as the AT-ST he's supporting. lol

5 hours ago, arnoldrew said:

Read the initial paragraph. It says that it has to be "another" friendly trooper. I wish they had put that in the reminder text. The sentence you quoted is clarifying that you can pull the strings to make a unit attack and then later when they activate they can attack again.

You can just move again instead of using pull the strings to move. Move is the only action you can do more than once per activation.

Not that it needs clarifying, since the attack action is happening off-activation for the targeted unit.

Actually pulling the string on himself would be useless for the emperor.

If he wants to move, he could simply move a second time instead of pulling the strings.

Also pulling the strings to gain a second attack, would not work, because you can only make one attack action during your activation.

28 minutes ago, toffolone said:

Actually pulling the string on himself would be useless for the emperor.

If he wants to move, he could simply move a second time instead of pulling the strings.

Also pulling the strings to gain a second attack, would not work, because you can only make one attack action during your activation.

On 6/19/2019 at 11:33 AM, Darth Sanguis said:

The RRG page 51:

"The attack granted by the pulling the strings ability does not count against that unit's one attack action during its activation that round."

It came up in the thread.

I had read the rest of the "pulling the strings" rules more carefully (like above) and missed that the section above it specifies "another" unit whereas the card itself does not.

Under the presumption that Palpy could Pull the strings himself, a second attack would be amazing, unfortunately, he cannot.