It Is TIME!!! (or This is NOT It!)

By sarumanthewhite, in Runewars Miniatures Game

So, it’s been nearly 4 months since FFG dropped support for Runewars leaving it to us, the fans, to do what we like with the game. Being a gamer of over 40 years but relatively new to Runewars, I thought I would take a bit to sit back and get the lay of the land before jumping in.

What I’ve noticed is that there’s still a lot of us talking about the game whenever possible, but there’s just not that much to talk about, so I aim to rectify that by giving us something new to talk about.

Yes, that’s right, I’ve been working for about 3 months on what I believe will be the first “Fan-Made” expansion for Runewars- more on that in a moment.

Why am I doing this? Well, because I love the game and see no reason to stop playing. Gaming is a very different hobby these days. With easy access to digital tools, we can create a lot of content to share amongst fans. Several CCG’s have done this with great success- I think of the Star Wars: TCG from Wizards (they have like 15 expansions) and the Star Trek: CCG from Decipher (I think they have even more).

This should create a very positive environment for the game to exist. Whether it thrives or not is up to us. When we talk to new players, I recommend we tell them the following:

1. The game is a good solid game with very asymmetric factions that are fun to collect and paint.
  2. The figures are still available and cheap- people are selling entire armies on eBay and anything you can’t find on Amazon can be found on the FFG website
  3. There’s new content being created so any investment you make will not be wasted, instead it will be rewarded with enjoyment
  4. There are tournaments running across the US this year with no intention of stopping
  5. The guys working on this expansion are working on new races using other commercially available figures
  6. In the end, if we have a local group that’s having fun, who cares what anyone else thinks?