Upgrades Wound Questions

By Elliphino, in Rules

Howdy, I think the answer to both of these questions is "yes" but I can't quite pin it down in the rules. Can someone confirm these for me?

1. If a unit gains surge = hit, such as Stormtroopers do, does that effect also apply to heavy weapons upgrades? For example, does the DLT-19 heavy weapon upgrade on a Stormtrooper unit also gain surge = hit?

2. If a unit attacks with impact grenades, does each grenade die receive "Impact 1"?. For example, if I attack with 5 impact grenades and all 5 come up as "hit" results, do all 5 convert to crits, or just 1?

Thanks in advance for your response(s)

1. Yes.

2. Yes.

Also, if you equip Fragmentation Grenades on a unit, and at least one model uses it, all weapons and dice in this attack pool gains surge: crit :)

9 minutes ago, Elliphino said:

Howdy, I think the answer to both of these questions is "yes" but I can't quite pin it down in the rules. Can someone confirm these for me?

1. If a unit gains surge = hit, such as Stormtroopers do, does that effect also apply to heavy weapons upgrades? For example, does the DLT-19 heavy weapon upgrade on a Stormtrooper unit also gain surge = hit?

2. If a unit attacks with impact grenades, does each grenade die receive "Impact 1"?. For example, if I attack with 5 impact grenades and all 5 come up as "hit" results, do all 5 convert to crits, or just 1?

Thanks in advance for your response(s)

1. Yes, both personnel and heavy weapon upgrades share all the stats of the unit they're in. The rule is this:

"Trooper upgrades add specific trooper minis to a unit, represented by unique sculpts to easily identify them. These minis always share the defense value, wound threshold, and weapons of the unit card they are equipped to, but may have an additional weapon of their own."

Although it doesn't specify surges, you can inferr that, given that it shares everything else.

2. Each impact grenade consists of 1 black die that has impact 1, and it stacks. So if you trhow 3 grenades, it will be 3 black dice having impact 3.

"If a unit performs an attack using multiple weapons that have the impact x keyword and those weapons contribute dice to the same attack pool, the x values of each impact x keyword are cumulative."

Awesome, thanks for the speedy reply!

Keep in mind that the keywords apply to the whole attack pool. If your Stormtrooper unit with a DLT and impact grenades chooses to use the DLT and 4 grenades on a single target, the attack would have impact 5 and you could use that impact on both red dice if they roll hits.