A few newbie qs

By Alan Noir, in Rules

Played about 6-7 ganes over the last few months and getting the hang of some advanced rules. Just looking for clarification on a few things

If an objective is claimed, can it follow the leader through vertical terrain via climb of clamber? Theres nothing to suggest it cant

Can multiple objectives be claimed by the same leader?

Are units engaged if they are either side of the same barricade for example?

Can vader "spend" dodge if he's suffered critical hits only, in order to trigger deflect? Ie can crits be deflected?

What happens with pierce 3 and uncanny luck? Does it render uncanny luck totally useless: if 3 hits land and 3 defence shields rolled are they cancelled? Or can 3 shields be rolled, pierce applied, then 3 defence re-rolled to avoid pierce? Or is it applied after all re-rolls have been applied, rendering re rolls pointless anyway?

One of Hans command cards has no pip? Is this a misprint or does it count as zero? If so does that grany priority over 1 pip card, and how does it work for building a deck of command cards?

If an operative has command cards that have their name ie boba fett. Are they issued by fett and range measured from him, or are they issued and measured to the named operative by the commander?

Thanks in advance

1. Yes. Just follow the rules under Objective tokens in the RRG.
2. Yes. See above.
3. No, they must be in base contact.
4. Yes and yes.
5. Roll defense dice, reroll up to 3 of them, then cancel 3 blocks. If there's only 3 damage going through, then yes, Han will just take 3 damage no matter what since he can't roll more than 3 blocks and it's kind of pointless to even roll the dice. However, if more than 3 damage is going through you should roll them and follow the steps above, as he might roll 4 blocks, thus stopping one damage.
6. It's not a misprint. He gets priority over any other command card played since it has fewer pips than any other card (Han shot first). For building a deck of command cards, read the card.
7. Operatives can be nominated to be the active commander who issues orders only when you play one of their unique command cards (they can't be nominated for a generic card like Push or Covering Fire). You then measure command range from them as normal and they issue any orders on the card to any eligible unit.

Please let me know if you have any questions. You seem to have a decent grasp on the rules, but I'd recommend downloading the most recent version (1.3.0) of the Rules Reference Guide from FFG's website. It basically has the answers to all of life's questions (life, the universe, everything, etc.).

Edited by arnoldrew

Cheers. We were using the rules reference and in a situation where it didbt say you specifically couldn't do something we allowed it. So pretty much worked out as you described.