Adultery

By Avatar111, in Lore Discussion

I'm a noob when it comes to "samurai lore".

I have a question for my campaign design;

Many years ago, A Seppun Woman married into the TSI family (she married to Tsi Wenfu) when they became a minor clan, the Oriole Clan (this is how the emperor at this time made it official, by "giving them" an imperial bride - in my story).
As a gift for his bride, and to welcome her in the family, Tsi Wenfu (a blacksmith from Yobanjin descent who greatly impressed the emperor with his craft) crafted an exquisite Naginata in the ring-sword style (with rings on its blade).

Now... many years later... a descendent of that woman who was given that naginata (family heirloom) had an "illegal affair" with a samurai (a Kakita family daimyo, and she was not married at this time).
she became pregnant, and hid her pregnancy as best as she could. Eventually, toward the end of her pregnancy, she fled her Tsi family and took refuge in a Fukurokujin Monastery where she eventually gave birth.
after having her son, she contacted the great clan samurai (the Kakita dad) and told him about the kid. And then she decided to exile herself out of the Rokugani borders, back into the Yobanjin territory (where the Tsi ancestors are from)... the story doesn't tell what happened to her...
but, before leaving, she left the Naginata at the temple of Fukurokujin, with the kid.

though, the dad was too compassionate... he went and talked to the monks, told them the story, and took the kid back to raise him. Obviously, he never told anyone that it was his real kid. He instead created a story that a Kenku delivered the kid to him, to be trained in the Kakita way, adding a touch of "mystery" so that nobody would question his decision to raise the kid.

when the kid got older, after his gempukku, the Kakita Dad gave the kid the naginata, saying the Kenku also gave that weapon with the kid and that the tengu mentioned this weapon was the weapon of his mother.