New to Game - A Few Questions

By woodyharperjr, in Mansions of Madness

Hello All!

I am new to MOM 2nd Edition, watched several online tutorials, lots of reading, and played 2 games on my own, and during the playing it brought up a few unanswered questions, and hoping the forum can help me out.

So here it goes:

1. If I click and 'Explore' action and it generates a monster in a room or there is a monster in a room i want to go through, do you have to do the 'Evade' test to get passed the monster every time? or if i can move 3 spaces, can i skip passed the monster?

2. Next, If i have an insanity card that tells me to use 1 less dice, is that every test until i can flip over the insanity card?

3. I also struggle sometimes to keep track of what tests against what. Does anyone have a "cheat sheet" that i could borrow.

Thanks everyone for bearing with me! Learning!

Woody

1. Anytime you move into a space containing a monster you have to do an evade check to leave the space. Regardless of when the monster spawns, whether its during Investigative or Mythos. You have to think of everything as taking place at the same time, just that Investigators are doing their thing and then mythos/monsters theirs.

2. I'm assuming you mean a Horror card such as 'Hallucinations' or 'Acalculia'. These cards do affect every test that would use these skills until you have a way to flip or discard this Horror card. The Insanity cards don't affect test results but rather have the potential to change how you can win the game.