Thinking Out Loud - Agenda Deck Decisions

By LegoMech, in Imperial Assault Campaign

After playing a Twin Shadows Campaign as the Imperial Player last year, I found that by the last mission I was flooded with too many cards in front of me and it actually cost me the campaign because I overlooked a card that would have let me win. I'm not good at remembering rare timing triggers, and I wound up with a lot of missed opportunities. I have a new Twin Shadows campaign coming up with new players who have never played before, so this time I want to be smarter about card choice. I may do a separate post about my class deck decision-making, but for this edition of "Thinking Out Loud", I'm going to go through my thought process on selecting Agenda sets for this campaign.

I have two primary goals for my Agenda deck:

1. I want to choose Agenda cards that I'm not going to forget to use and that have simple timing requirements. I want to avoid card clutter in front of me.
  2. I don't want to ruin the experience of new players, so I am looking for fun or interesting cards, not "gotcha sucker!" cards that will frustrate them.

First, I wanted to know how many Agenda cards I'll even wind up buying. I feel like last time I had several cards in front of me, but I think that was because I saved all the Agenda cards for the last mission and bought a ton of low-XP class cards. So I listed out the possible Influence earnings:

• Twin Shadows Agenda Earnings: Lose/Win
  • Pre-Campaign Steps: No starting Influence
  • After Mission 1: Hunted Down: 1/1
  • After Mission 2: Past Life Enemies/Shady Dealings: 1/3
  • After Mission 3: Canyon Run: 1/3

That's not much, just 3 to 7 points total over the course of the entire campaign. Which also means card cost can become an issue. After selecting my six agenda sets, I wound up with the following:

• A 15 card Agenda Deck (after the mission cards are removed)
  • 9 cards that cost 2 Influence