RRG:
G U A R D I A N X (UNIT KEYWORD):
While a friendly trooper unit at range 1 and in line of sight is defending against a ranged attack, a unit that has the
guardian x
keyword may cancel up to x hit (Hit) results. For each hit (Hit) result canceled, the unit with the
guardian x
keyword rolls a defense die matching its defense. After converting defense surge (D-surge) results according to its surge chart, the unit with the
guardian x
keyword suffers 1 wound for each blank result.
•
Guardian x
cannot be used to cancel critical (Crit) results.
• Hit (Hit) results are canceled during the “Modify Attack Dice” step of an attack.
• A unit that uses
guardian x
to cancel hit (Hit) results is not a defender and does not gain suppression tokens.
• A defender that has all of its hit (Hit) results canceled by a unit with
guardian x
is still the defender, and gains a suppression token as normal.
• A unit cannot use
guardian x
if the defender also has the
guardian x
keyword.
• The
pierce x
keyword can be used to cancel block (block) results on defense dice rolled by a unit using
guardian x
; treat canceled block (block) results as blank results. After using
pierce x
in this way, any unused
pierce x
value can still be used to cancel block (block) results rolled by the defender.
My question is this, can multiple units use guardian on the same attack?
Let's say my Palpatine is in range 3 and LoS of an enemy stormtrooper unit with 5 minis and a heavy DLT. Palpatine is behind light cover and has a dodge token. Two Imperial guard units are at range one and in clear LoS of Palpatine. The enemy stormtroopers take an aim action then attack for 5 white 2 red. They roll a (crit) a (hit) and two (A-surges), then spend their aim token and reroll the 3 blanks for an additional 2 (hit)s. They convert surges.for a total of 1 (crit) 5 (hit)s. I cancel one (hit) with light cover, and cancel one (hit) with my dodge.
Now, my Imperial guards at range 1 of Palpatine both have
guardian 2
, the one on the left cancels 2 (hit)s and rolls 2 defense dice. It gets a (block) and a (d-surge). Since they don't surge it suffers 1 wound.
Then
the Imperial guard unit on the right cancels a (hit) (since it can't cancel the crit) and rolls a defense die. It gets a (block).
Since the only remaining result in the attack is a (crit) Palpatine rolls his defense die and gets a (D-surge). He converts to a (block) and cancels the (crit). The attack ends and Palpatine receives a suppression token.
Is this correct?
Guardian X
Yes, I don't see any restriction, so both units can trigger Guardian without an issue.
Just to play devil's advocate, the sentence says "a unit" with guardian may intervene. Grammatically, that's one. If it allowed multiple units to jump in, it should say "any units."
9 hours ago, Turan said:Just to play devil's advocate, the sentence says "a unit" with guardian may intervene. Grammatically, that's one. If it allowed multiple units to jump in, it should say "any units."
Jokes aside, you're making a good point, maybe this needs clarification from FFG. I'm not an expert on english grammar (I'm from Argentina) and when it says "a unit that has the guardian x keyword" I don't interpret it as only 1 unit, but actually that may be what they mean.
2 hours ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:I'm not an expert on english grammar
Lol, I doubt that even experts on english grammar could agree on the exact meaning of that sentence...
12 hours ago, Turan said:Just to play devil's advocate, the sentence says "a unit" with guardian may intervene. Grammatically, that's one. If it allowed multiple units to jump in, it should say "any units."
2 hours ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:
8 minutes ago, NeonWolf said:Lol, I doubt that even experts on english grammar could agree on the exact meaning of that sentence...
I went ahead and submitted it to FFG. We'll see. I'll update when I have an answer.
Normally (in game rules) "a" is used when you mean a generic unit. If "a single unit" is the intended meaning, then "one" would have been used.
So no real problema here.
@toffolone
@NeonWolf
@Turan
@Lemmiwinks86
Confirmed
YES
by FFG: