Emplacement Movement

By JediPartisan, in Rules

Quick question, can emplacement units reverse?

Its not mentioned anywhere that I can find. It does say that Emplacement units are treated as Troopers with some exceptions, but it doesn’t mention reverse for troopers at all. By contrast, repulsor vehicles do mention that they CANNOT reverse, whereas ground vehicles can.

If there is a rule, could you point out where, please.

i think this was an unintentional omission. Anyone have this come up yet? I know it’s only the E-Web this really effects, but with a fixed front, reversing can help you get a better angle on things while also moving the unit into a more safe position (firing from cover etc).

From page 45:

Only ground vehicle units can perform a reverse.

I don’t know if it’s an unintentional omission or not (seems like it might be, personally), but that is pretty clear. For what it’s worth, with the combination of the Reposition and Full Pivot keywords you can effectively do a reverse, but it takes both actions.

2 hours ago, nashjaee said:

From page 45:

Only ground vehicle units can perform a reverse.

I don’t know if it’s an unintentional omission or not (seems like it might be, personally), but that is pretty clear. For what it’s worth, with the combination of the Reposition and Full Pivot keywords you can effectively do a reverse, but it takes both actions.

Thanks.

Though you might be able to line up the same shot, doing a reverse does more than that, because it also is a reposition which Pivot can’t do.

It just seems odd and maybe omitted by accident, since troopers can move in any direction, and for some reason emplacement Troopers can’t even backup.

Also, it doesn’t say you can’t reverse where the repulsor vehicles state specifically, you can’t.

Thanks again for the page reference.

The reverse rules cover any unit with a notched base, and state only ground vehicles can move in that way.

The rules for the emplacement trooper say that when it moves you affix the movement ruler into the front notch only.,

This doesn't mean that they can't go in that direction though as they are allowed a free pivot (up to 360 degrees) either before or after moving. So they can move in the "reverse" direction but they would be changing facing. IE they can do a 180 then move. With the movement ruler allowing a further 90 degrees of movement they can actually reposition quite well , then repivot next turn to get the shot if the facing wasn't what they wanted.

IE first turn do a 180 pivot and move. Then next turn full pivot facing back the way and because it's only a pivot they can shoot. So they get the same position and facing as if they had reversed , they won't be able to aim themselves though on the same turn.

Edited by syrath
4 hours ago, syrath said:

IE  f     irst tu  rn do a 180 pivot and move. Then next turn full pivot facing back the  w  a   y 

Even better, you can do it in a single turn due to Reposition:

Action 1: move action. Reposition gives you a free pivot, which you use to turn 180 and then do the move.

Action 2: move action to pivot 180 back to the original facing.

And the following turn you would be free to aim + shoot if you like.

56 minutes ago, nashjaee said:

Even better, you can do it in a single turn due to Reposition:

Action 1: move action. Reposition gives you a free pivot, which you use to turn 180 and then do the move.

Action 2: move action to pivot 180 back to the original facing.

And the following turn you would be free to aim + shoot if you like.

True since plodding only limits you to one standard move, and one move is a pivot

Edited by syrath