Other good gaming companies?

By FrogTrigger, in Star Wars: Imperial Assault

So I check the FFG news regularly, I love a lot of their games like MoM, Descent, LOTR LCG, IA obviously, etc.. but it made me wonder, are there any other board gaming companies like FFG out there?

I know FFG is known for their quality, which is top notch, and their aggressive board game models that really spank your wallet. Are there any other companies that have such a broad arc on different genres and IP titles?

Basically, I'm pretty new to board games and have been a FFG fanboi with IA being my gateway drug, I've seen a lot of cool looking games on kick starters but have yet to branch out. What other board game companies do you like/follow?

I wouldn't say they're comparable to FFG by any means, but Days of Wonder is a fantastic company that I love.

Their games have beautiful components, relatively simple rules, and... I don't know where I was going with this, but they're just a delight. Shadows Over Camelot is a pretty fun semi-cooperative hidden role game, I really want to pick Pirate's Cover, and Memoir '44 might appeal well to the IA crowd.

CMON

Edited by Dantk

Days of Wonders but also CGE, Z-Man, Portal Games, CMON, Repos Productions, Rio Grande Games, Matagot, Iello, Blue Orange Games and many others I can't recall right now. Perhaps not the same ability to make a colossal game like Imperial Assault, but definitely they have many masterpieces in their catalogue.

Edited by Golan Trevize

Z-Man is now owned by Asmodee and the short-lived Windrider Games label which spun off from FFG was merged to it.

I don't really follow companies but games, trying to find something that would come close to BSG...

7 hours ago, a1bert said:

I don't really follow companies but games, trying to find something that would come close to BSG...

Dead of Winter and Shadows over Camelot

3 hours ago, Golan Trevize said:

Dead of Winter and Shadows over Camelot