Whipcord Launcher & Hunter

By BrickDaniels, in Rules

A friend and I were both using Boba Fett in a mirror match yesterday, and we were puzzled about how Fett's one-pip works if he is already in melee with the unit he wants to target. It seems like Fett should be able to use the free action on the card against a unit he's engaged with, but I distinctly remember that a unit in base contact with another unit is not at range one of it and is instead in a melee. Am I confusing this with the rule for ranged vs. melee weapons or does it apply to card/free actions as well?

Also, both our Bobas had hunter equipped, and we were using it against each other's corps units. The units had already lost minis, but now I read that hunter doesn't work like this. So my question is: how is a trooper unit with defeated minis different from a wounded trooper unit? I know the rules reference says 'a wounded unit has one or more wound tokens' but it says nothing about that unit having defeated minis. It seems logical to me that a unit with dead soldiers in it is wounded, regardless of whether or not one of its living members is hurt. If the card works as I've seen others say it does, then why doesn't the card specifically state "while attacking a trooper unit with one or more wound tokens" as opposed to just "a wounded trooper unit"? Seems like it needs an FAQ.

Regarding whipcord, yes it works against units that are engaged with boba. You are right that WEAPONS that are range 1 cannot be used against melee targets (unless they have the melee range icon) but cards and what not, only Care if they are within range. For example Darth Vader/Luke can force push enemies who they are engaged with. So yes you can whipcord people in melee.

The 2nd question currently, unless they FAQ it. Hunter does NOT work against units that are missing minis only units that have wounds on them. And like you said that is because a unit that is missing a mini is not considered wounded.

On 10/7/2018 at 6:28 AM, BrickDaniels said:

If the card works as I've seen others say it does, then why doesn't the card specifically state "while attacking a trooper unit with one or more wound tokens" as opposed to just "a wounded trooper unit"? Seems like it needs an FAQ.

The answer is simple. Because we already have the definition of "wounded" in the RRG (the same that you mentioned) and means that the unit have one or more wound tokens, so there's no need for them to clear in the upgrade card that the unit must have one or more wound tokens, because that's what "wounded" means.

Edited by Lemmiwinks86

Thanks for the responses. The hunter ruling makes sense. I just never found anything in the rules reference that specifically says something along the lines of "a unit with defeated minis is NOT a wounded unit, unless a mini in that unit also has at least one wound token", so I was confused.

21 hours ago, BrickDaniels said:

Thanks for the responses. The hunter ruling makes sense. I just never found anything in the rules reference that specifically says something along the lines of "a unit with defeated minis is NOT a wounded unit, unless a mini in that unit also has at least one wound token", so I was confused.

I understand your point, but you're overthinking it. Wounded is what the RRG says it is and nothing more, and "defeated" is something different and also explained on the RRG. Basically when a mini receives wounds less than it's HP that mini (and the unit it belongs to) become wounded. When the wounds reach that mini's HP, it ceases to be wounded and becomes defeated.

The Hunter upgrade uses the word"wounded" so it affects only when attacking a unit with at least one wound token, but for example the Tenacity upgrade that will come with the wookies and some other units in the future specifies that it can be used both cases you mention. If I'm able to read it correctly, it says:
"While performing a melee attack, if you are wounded or if one or more of your minis have been defeated, add 1 red attack die to your attack pool"

Edited by Lemmiwinks86