Relentless question

By commodawg80, in Rules

Can you take a move action followed by the attack free action twice? I'm sorry if this has been asked before or I'm just not reading the rules correctly. Thanks.

33 minutes ago, commodawg80 said:

Can you take a move action followed by the attack free action twice? I'm sorry if this has been asked before or I'm just not reading the rules correctly. Thanks.

No. There is a distinction between “attacks” and “attack actions”. An “action” can only be performed once per activation, regardless of it being free or not. Effects that grant you an “attack” can be used as many times as the effect allows.

Since relentless grants an attack action, you can only trigger it once. Unless you attacked with your first action and then performed a move with the second action; in that case you can’t trigger relentless at all because you already did an attack action.

38 minutes ago, nashjaee said:

No. There is a distinction between “attacks” and “attack actions”. An “action” can only be performed once per activation, regardless of it being free or not. Effects that grant you an “attack” can be used as many times as the effect allows.

Since relentless grants an attack action, you can only trigger it once. Unless you attacked with your first action and then performed a move with the second action; in that case you can’t trigger relentless at all because you already did an attack action.

Thanks I thought that was how it worked but just wanted confirmation.

Sorry for barging in, but that was a topic quite unclear in our first game.

So Vader can move(action 1), relentlessly throw his saber (free attack action), move again (action 2). But he cannot attack again, so not use the Force Choke free action card after the second move. But he can Force Push a unit closer instead?

8 minutes ago, L_A_D said:

But he cannot attack again, so not use the Force Choke free action card after the second move.

This is incorrect. Force Choke does not make you perform an attack, it just instructs you to add a wound. A card does not count as that action unless it uses the actual word (attack, move, etc.). Simply placing a token does not count as that kind of action.

11 minutes ago, L_A_D said:

Sorry for barging in, but that was a topic quite unclear in our first game.

So Vader can move(action 1), relentlessly throw his saber (free attack action), move again (action 2). But he cannot attack again, so not use the Force Choke free action card after the second move. But he can Force Push a unit closer instead?

Force Choke is not an attack, it's just directly dealing a wound to a mini. so you can absolutely do all of those things in a single activation.

An attack is the process of rolling attack dice, applying dodge/cover/modifications, rolling defense dice, etc., etc. If an effect does not use the word "attack", then it's not an attack.

Edit: ninja'd with an almost identical answer, lol.

Edited by nashjaee

As @nashjaee and I move closer to becoming a single organism...

Thanks to both of you! :)

If an effect on a card or another component contradicts rules found in the Learn to Play booklet or Rules Reference, that component takes precedence.

and then this contradicts everything about vader and relentless.

On 6/7/2019 at 5:00 PM, Anatak12 said:

If an effect on a card or another component contradicts rules found in the Learn to Play booklet or Rules Reference, that component takes precedence.

and then this contradicts everything about vader and relentless.

How? Per Page 11 "Abilities" :

• Abilities on unit cards are presented as keywords. The front of each unit card provides reminder text for that unit’s unit keywords. The back of each unit card provides reminder text for that unit’s weapon keywords.

» Reminder text is not an exhaustive description of the rules for a keyword. If a player has questions about how a keyword works, that player should refer to that keyword’s glossary entry.

On 6/7/2019 at 5:00 PM, Anatak12 said:

If an effect on a card or another component contradicts rules found in the Learn to Play booklet or Rules Reference, that component takes precedence.

and then this contradicts everything about vader and relentless.

Can you explain what you mean?