Emergency Stims and wounds during current activation.

By YuriPanzer, in Rules

Let's recall Emergency Stims:

Quote

"During an attack , when you would suffer wounds, prevent up to 2 wounds and place an equal number of wound tokens on this card instead. If you do, at the end of your next activation, discard each token on this card and suffer wounds equal to the number of tokens discarded. "

Let's say an unit with the Emergency Stims gets affected by an Area Weapon (Mines, Proton Charges). RRG Page 13

Quote

"A weapon with a yellow range icon (1 2 3 4) is an area weapon. When using an area weapon, perform a separate attack against each unit that is in line of sight and at the range indicated by the number on the range icon.

(...)

Attacks made by an area weapon are ranged attacks ."

Ok, it seems that if the unit get wounds from Area Weapons, can prevent them.

Question is: When does the "at the end of your next activation" count? RAW seems that I still can perform another activation until I suffer the prevented wounds.

To make it clear:

Quote

Option A
Round 2:
-Activate Unit.
-First action: move.
-Mines trigger, deal 2 wounds.
-Stims prevent 2 wounds.
-Second action: whatever
-End of activation: suffer the prevented wounds.

Quote

Option B
Round 2:
-Activate Unit.
-First action: move.
-Mines trigger, deal 2 wounds.
-Stims prevent 2 wounds.
-Second action: whatever

Round 3:
-Activate Unit.
-Do whatever actions you can.
-End of activation: suffer the prevented wounds during Round 2.

What would you say? We played Option B.

Thanks everybody.

I think option B is correct. Because it says “next activation”, not “current activation”. It also does not say “at the next end of activation” (subtle difference in wording with very different meaning).

That is what we did, so we had to remember at next round if we had or not applied wounds.

11 hours ago, nashjaee said:

I think option B is correct. Because it says “next activation”, not “current activation”. It also does not say “at the next end of activation” (subtle difference in wording with very different meaning).

Yeah, seconded. Your next activation would be next turn, so if you pop stims in response to a detonation or standby you get 3 actions before they resolve (unless you're supressed, etc)

Hadn't thought about Standby, good call. Thank you very much @svelok !

And what about using emergency stims during round 6 ?

Doesn't the unit die if you use this upgrade in the right way?

6 hours ago, enekolob said:

And what about using emergency stims during round 6 ?

Doesn't the unit die if you use this upgrade in the right way?

If the unit with ES already activated and you use it's effect, those 2 damage will never go to the unit as there is no "next activation" after round 6

I agree, game ends, wounds didn't kick in.

Sounds strange, but also is to run out of cover on round 6 to get an objective in front of a lot of other enemy troops.