Balancing Allies/Threat - general question

By thinkbomb, in Imperial Assault Campaign

First off - I'm fairly new to Imperial Assault, and I really like everything it has to offer. In general I'm usually the one playing Empire in campaign mode (which I love doing). It's also worth noting that I'm playing opposite a skilled player who's able to handle and navigate most everything I throw at him (we're still having fun, but it's a fair even match).

One concern I have, but haven't been able to verify, is the long-run balance of the rebels bringing in allies.

Normal rules is that the empire gets to increase the initial threat by the deployment cost for the initial optional deployment.

What I'm concerned is that it just creates an initial difficulty spike for the rebels ... and if they're able to weather that they'll have the extra firepower to deal with the rest of the mission easily (owing to economics of reinforcements and whatnot).

I'm curious if this is a valid concern or not ... and if it is if there's an effective house rule to balance it.

Thanks in advance

You already had some replies on BGG, so I'll take this into a little different direction.

Rebels get the first activation each round. The imperials get to activate only one group between each rebel activation. If the rebels are smart and defeat figures before their activations (and defeat two figures from separate groups rather than from one to make the imperial activation less powerful), their offense is the best defense. They almost halve the number of imperial groups each round.

The (newer) allies are not unbalanced on the imperial's favor because of their threat cost, they are unbalanced on the rebels' favor due to giving them activation advantage. Which allows the heroes and their ally to defeat the groups that have activated in the most efficient way - so that they can both do that and advance their objective.