Some Basic Clarification Questions

By Averander, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

I just started playing and am a bit confused by a few things

1. When do you play cards that can't be played during conflict?

2. With cards like Banzai where only one can be played, does that count to your opponent too?

3. What is the point of Pacifism? Can you play attachments to enemy cards?

4. My brother keeps trying to argue defended win rings if they successfully defend. I thought rings go back into the unclaimed ring pile. Why do we have a different opinion on this? Which is right?

5. How do shugenja spells work? I am lost. Do you only play them if the shugenja is in the combat and you have one of the right element? Can you only attach to the right element?

6. Can you use the abilities of characters summoned but not in the conflict? Some card abilities suggest you can.

7. With cards like good omen can you use them as soon as you pick them up if the conditions were right or has the moment passed?

8. Do cards like Ancestral Blade EVER get discarded?

9. Is there a hand size limit?

10. Is there a fate pool limit?

11. Is there a summon limit?

1. You can play them during any action window, just not the ones during conflicts. I'm going to assume you've only read the Learn to Play guide, and that doesn't really make it clear, but you get an opportunity to play actions before (and after) every conflict, so usually you'd play them then. Appendix 1 of the Rules Reference is what you want for a more in depth look at that.

2. No, when you have cards with a Max number of time you can play them that's per player; both you and your opponent get to play a single Banzai during a conflict.

3. Yes, you can put attachments on your opponent's cards. They still count as your cards, however, so any ability on them would still be triggered by you.