Unit Leader Line of Sight

By BobaIcedTea, in Rules

If a unit leader has line of sight on a target but none of the other members of the team do, are all members allowed to make attack rolls?

Under Attack.
a. Determine Eligible Minis: Each mini in the attacker is
eligible to contribute to the attack pool if that mini has
line of sight to any mini in the defender.

The opposite also works: The leader is in range but doesn't have line of sight, rest of the squad has line of sight: THe other ones can shoot but not the leader (and it provides heavy cover to the target)

Are you sure, I thought the leader has to see the target for everyone to shoot at it. Can you show me the pg number that is on.

Thanks

5 minutes ago, chriscook said:

Can you show me the pg number that is on.

Page 14, Attack. To determine an eligible defending unit, it only needs to be within range of the unit leader of the attacking unit. Doesn't say anyplace that the unit leader needs to have any line of sight.

The unit leader is a mini so....


a. Determine Eligible Minis: Each mini            in  the attacker is
eligible to contribute to the attack pool if that mini has
line of sight to any mini in the defender  

Ok cool, never came up yet but im sure it will.

1 hour ago, Memorare said:

The unit leader is a mini so....


a. Determine Eligible Minis: Each mini            in  the attacker is
eligible to contribute to the attack pool if that mini has
line of sight to any mini in the defender  

Yes, he will not be part of the attack pool, but if he's in range the unit will still be able to shoot if they see (just not with the leader's dice)

The other related part is under the Wounds section:

“During an attack, if line of sight to a mini in the defender is blocked from all minis in the attacker, that mini in the defender cannot suffer wounds.”

As long as any mini in the attacking unit can see a mini in the defender, that defending mini can be wounded.

As Duezerre noted, cover is from the unit leader; so if he can’t see any minis in the defender, they’ll still get heavy cover and the unit leader won’t be able to contribute his dice to the attack pool, but the unit can still make the attack.