Gentlemen of Fortune: Fantasy on the High Seas

By Noahjam325, in Your Settings

After many months of hard work I have finally completed my homebrew setting/rule system. The link below contains the PDF and character sheet for the game.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1cqKgLJE-IWOEr_OfhSLpnApMaWqyAk2f

I apologize that the character sheet is not pretty, but it's the best I could do in my current situation. It might get a face lift at some point in the future. I also apologize if some of the formatting in the PDF is a little weird. I spent months working on a word document for the system. I have never used HTML in my life and just this Sunday just forced myself to use GM Binder without looking at any HTML tutorials. So what you see with the PDF was what I was able to figure out in less than a week. I'm also not a professional writer, so some of the writing might be on the cringy side. The lore and setting is meant to be on the generic side so that anybody can just kind of fit these mechanics into any of their games, so a lot of the content in there was directly inspired by my players. This is one of the reasons you won't find any talents in this book. Rather than making a gigantic list we're planning on using the expanded talent list created by the community and just creating talents as we play. The mechanics and skills were designed in such a way that they could facilitate the many different interpretations of a pirate adventure . The system is designed assuming the players are a small but elite crew of pirates that can take on large navy frigates with hundreds of crew (e.g. One Piece ). But also have the ability to scale up to having their own large ship with hundreds of crew to manage. It also streamlines a lot of the minutia of gear management so players and GM can focus more on cool items and action rather than gear management. Most of these mechanics were play tested a little bit before they made it into this PDF.