1.4 FD Laser Cannon Team and Suppression token

By Jordanus, in Rules

The new rebel unit, 1.4 FD Laser Cannon Team, has no movement. What would happen if you have 2 or more suppression tokens? When checking courage and failing the roll could not move ........ how will this effect be solved during the game?

I would pose a guess that it would pivot to face the nearest edge of the board and have to just sit there.

It has courage 2 so would need 4 suppression tokens, so it shouldn't happen that often.

I guess it would go catatonic and stare at the table edge, thinking "I wish I had legs".

Yes it cannot perform moves so it's unable to take any actions unit it rallies or dies. Pivot does not count as it does not actually move the figure.

Just do exactly as the rules say, take a move action towards table edge, it has zero move so stays put losing its turn.

27 minutes ago, Zerker said:

Yes it cannot perform moves so it's unable to take any actions unit it rallies or dies. Pivot does not count as it does not actually move the figure.

Plus, making it pivot would probably make it lose it's next turn with 1 suppression by having to pivot around with it's only action. And it just doesn't make any thematic sense.

Get two dead troopers models and run them towards the table edge and treat the gun as unmanned until they return.

10 hours ago, Amanal said:

Get two dead troopers models and run them towards the table edge and treat the gun as unmanned until they return.

I think that is just too convoluted and cumbersome. Plus, it's a harsher punishment for panic than for other troopers. If the cannon is stationary, then it should be stationary. Treat panic as the troopers cowering down behind their turret.

I think that if it's panicked it would try to move, cannot do it and thus end it's activation. It wouldn't make sense to pivot as that would be all for that activation even if it could move and it wouldn't be efficient as the rules says it should be.

On 6/7/2018 at 9:33 AM, Major Mishap said:

Just do exactly as the rules say, take a move action towards table edge, it has zero move so stays put losing its turn.

I like this. Both as it adheres to the rules and lends to the idea that the crew have either hit the deck in cover or booked it away from the battle.

On ‎6‎/‎7‎/‎2018 at 9:33 AM, Major Mishap said:

Just do exactly as the rules say, take a move action towards table edge, it has zero move so stays put losing its turn.

As stated. Follow the rules. They "pin in place" so to speak.

Are we really asking rules questions about minis that haven't been released that require rules that haven't been released? And then answering them? Seems a bit of a "what is the sound of one hand clapping?" exercise to me.

11 hours ago, Brightguy said:

Are we really asking rules questions about minis that haven't been released that require rules that haven't been released? And then answering them? Seems a bit of a "what is the sound of one hand clapping?" exercise to me.

What rules that haven't been released? The full rules for Stationary? Yeah, true. They function within the rules as is with what we know, though.

3 hours ago, rowdyoctopus said:

What rules that haven't been released? The full rules for Stationary? Yeah, true. They function within the rules as is with what we know, though.

Is “Emplacement Trooper” a “Trooper” for ALL purposes?

I mean, if it is, why not just call it a trooper?

There has to be SOME reason for the difference we do not know yet...

10 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

Is “Emplacement Trooper” a “Trooper” for ALL purposes?

I mean, if it is, why not just call it a trooper?

There has to be SOME reason for the difference we do not know yet...

Well my guess is it is a trooper on a bigger base, since the RRG section for trooper mentions small bases.

2 hours ago, rowdyoctopus said:

Well my guess is it is a trooper on a bigger base, since the RRG section for trooper mentions small bases.

But as you say - that’s a guess - that is not a revealed rule.

12 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

But as you say - that’s a guess - that is not a revealed rule.

My entire point was that the unrevealed rules likely are not that complicated, so it really isn't worth telling people it is worthless to ask questions.

18 minutes ago, rowdyoctopus said:

My entire point was that the unrevealed rules likely are not that complicated, so it really isn't worth telling people it is worthless to ask questions.

Well, you can ask questions - you just have to be prepared for the answer to be “we don’t have the answer yet.”