Premeasure range and movement question

By CrowOfPyke, in Rules

6 hours ago, Screwtape said:

Could  you 'premeasure'  two moves on  you  r tur  n? 

Officially, no. The only premeasuring allowed with the movement tool is by placing it against the leader of the currently active unit and adjusting freely. (Refer to Premeasuring on page 42.)

4 hours ago, nashjaee said:

Officially, no. The only premeasuring allowed with the movement tool is by placing it against the leader of the currently active unit and adjusting freely. (Refer to Premeasuring on page 42.)

OK. Once you choose to physically move the model, then you have then taken the move action, and that is irreversible. However, before you move the model you are allowed to play around with the measurement tool as much as you want. After that you may choose to take the move or take another action. Does that sound correct?

12 hours ago, Screwtape said:

An issue came up that kind of has something to do with this.

My opponent played SoS and came up a few cm short of hitting anything. This left a bad taste in my mouth b/c wiffing a SoS is pretty much the game. We thought that once he took his first move, then measured for his second, saw that he would come up short, that he couldn't 'reset' the turn. Once he executed the first move, that action was irreversible.

Is this true?

Could you 'premeasure' two moves on your turn? If yes, could you use a proxy model to mark where the first move would end, so you could then measure the second move?

I guess I'm asking that once a model activates what can be done, other than using the range ruler, and use the movement tool for the first move, to 'plan out' the activation as much as possible.

This depends on how you are playing. Per the rules, once he did his first move, he's commited. Nothing says he has to move as his second action, but you can't take that first move back once completed.....

But!! This depends. Are you playing an informal, casual game? I would allow him to restart the whole move.

Are you playing in a tournament? Nope! You make an error of that magnitude, it's on you.

22 minutes ago, Darth Lupine said:

This depends on how you are playing. Per the rules, once he did his first move, he's commited. Nothing says he has to move as his second action, but you can't take that first move back once completed.....

But!! This depends. Are you playing an informal, casual game? I would allow him to restart the whole move.

Are you playing in a tournament? Nope! You make an error of that magnitude, it's on you.

Friendly game, but we want to make sure we were playing as if in a tournament.

50 minutes ago, Screwtape said:

Friendly game, but we want to make sure we were playing as if in a tournament.

That's how me and my friends play. In that case, error made, accept it and learn for next game.

On ‎5‎/‎25‎/‎2018 at 11:25 PM, Albertese said:

I've seen people paint their measurement tools. Would you (any of you - - not a specific you) object to a player literally marking the movement tool lengths on the range ruler?

The tournament regulations allow that: "Players may mark their tokens, range ruler, and movement tools to indicate ownership as long as the function of the component is not compromised."

Since this comes under a list of allowable modifications, I'd say they could not mark the movement tool in that way, it would be cheating.